We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at this lovely Inn for two wonderful nights. We were warmly welcomed and given a good orientation with many suggestions for things to do including maps, etc. Our room, the Star Maiden was perfect for us, very clean and inviting. A lovely deck with comfortable chairs and tables was perfectly placed to enjoy the view. The grounds were beautiful and invited strolling. Breakfast was excellent with herbs right from their garden and delicious homemade strawberry jam. It is conveniently located close to Highlands and we really enjoyed the shops and restaurants . We really liked the warmth and enthusiasm of the owners. We are definitely planning on returning soon.

Room Tip: Star Maiden was a lovely room with king bed and lovely deck and views of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    18
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
348
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our eighth vacation at Fire Mountain Inn – an upscale-rustic mountain-top hideaway bed and breakfast.

We love the quietude of the spectacular, beautiful setting for our weekend getaway. It's the perfect place to unplug to recharge.

This visit, we stayed in the Hemlock cabin: beautiful, spacious living room with fireplace, two-bedrooms (master, second), huge deck with a hot-tub for star-gazing and kitchen. Hemlock is one of five cabins on a quadrangle. The neighboring properties include a home with horses; and a farm a stone's throw from the Fire Mountain Inn pond.

While we have staying in nearly half of the 15 accommodations (including: Red Thunder and Nantahala in the Inn; and Red Cedar and Blue Moss cabins), Hemlock is our favorite.

To add to the magic of Fire Mountain, at sunset Saturday night, a couple got engaged while her parents looked on.

Highlights of our three-night getaway included:

-- hiking 1.8 miles to the top of Scaly mountain and then another hundred yards to another great vista from the top of the mountain.
-- dining at the always special Cyprus restaurant in its new downtown highlands location. Before dinner, we stopped on the way at a scenic overlook to see the sunset.
-- visiting a beautiful waterfalls in nearby Sky Valley and discovering a natural stone bridge: amazing from the top and bottom.
-- shopping for dinner at Mountain Fresh Grocery (fresh trout and dark chocolate balsamic vinegar which we drizzled over just picked strawberries from a local produce stand just outside of Dillard, GA.)
-- taking in the starry nights at Fire Mountain
-- a scenic drive into downtown Highlands
-- a gourmet breakfast – overlooking the often smokey mountains – every morning in the Inn
-- visiting the art gallery at Fire Mountain Inn

We look forward to our next visit to Fire Mountain Inn.

Note: I am a 360º virtual tour photographer. Each time we visit Fire Mountain Inn, I shoot 360ºs. I created the following virtual tour of Fire Mountain Inn. Most of the 360ºs are from this visit. Some are from previous stays:
http://panoprohosting.com/tours/ta4uz4lc

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smigrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you are looking to escape from the daily grind with magnificent mountain views in a tranquil spa-like setting highlighted by gourmet breakfasts, Fire Mountain should be your first and only stop! The staff and accommodations were simply outstanding! Hiram and Matthew attended to every detail and their "less is more" approach really made a difference. There is no danger of your neighbor falling asleep with the TV on or being jolted out of bed by the shrill sound an alarm clock because these devices have been eliminated from the equation. Our room was meticulously furnished and spotless and the view was amazing. We had full access to the sunset deck with breathtaking views so it didn't really matter which room we picked. In addition, all guests have access to the great room w/fireplace, library and art gallery and this is really all that is needed to fill your time. Upon arrival, Matthew gave us a tour of the property and a personalized itinerary of nearby natural wonders not to be missed. Many of these points of interest are not found in a published guidebook so I recommend you take full advantage of their insight. Fire Mountain is truly a special place that left us refreshed and rejuvenated. We plan to make this an annual retreat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We planned an escape-from-Atlanta weekend, and found Fire Mountain online. It looked more peaceful than trying to stay in Highlands, and definitely exceeded our expectations. Our daughter and boyfriend were camping nearby in Franklin, and came over Saturday night to join us around the bond fire and to watch the sun set. He was looking for an opportunity to propose, and there, looking over the valley as the sun set, they got engaged, adding quite an accent to the evening and the weekend. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. We slept with the doors to the east and west patios open and an all night breeze blowing. Mornings were a special treat with an excellent full breakfast. This was our first trip to Fire Mountain, but definitely not our last.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I had a recent great getaway in the Highlands, NC area. Hiram, Matthew and their staff are amazing. They know the area well and tailored their recommendations for activities based upon or interests. As other reviewers have mentioned, do not miss a breakfast. They are amazing and included homemade peach jam one day and homemade strawberry jam the next. You will also enjoy the view from the breakfast room. We were impressed by the owners and their dedication to the property and toward ensuring that your stay is everything you want it to be.

Room Tip: The hammock on the deck of the Laurel is a terrific reading spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gleda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in this rain forest paradise. The most beautiful, lush place I gave ever been. Waterfalls everywhere. The owners were a wealth of knowledge and told us trails to hike and places to eat dinner. They fixed the most amazing, delicious breakfasts. They were always available to answer questions and wanted to please you. Great getting away from TV and the "real world" for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment I entered the drive to Fire Mountain, I knew that I was going to have a unique experience. Hiram and Matthew are great hosts. They asked if I had visited the area before and mapped out day trips for me, which were wonderful. Breakfast is a special occasion at Fire Mountain, and not to be missed. Also not to be missed is the peaceful tranquility of Fire Mountain, and of course, the 365 degree views, the sunrises and the sunsets. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123789Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Property: Fire Mountain Inn
Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing