We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true mountain getaway: beauty outside and inside”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We love the Inn. We wanted to re-celebrate our honeymoon there and stayed again in the wonderful, minimalist Satohla room because of its large fireplace. Hiram and Mathew have thought of every detail though nothing is overdone. We loved being away from tv and computer. The mountain view is stunning and eating a terrific breakfast above the clouds is unforgettable. It's quiet there--quiet enough to hear the flute music in the library and in the wonderful art gallery. This time, we were there for Saturday's fire circle and for the height of the leaf color season. Highlands is a short drive away so any conveniences, food, or shopping is available easily. We did several small hikes on the property, found horses, pigs, and even some longhorns. We'll be back as soon as we can be.

Room Tip: We've only seen one room but would ask Hiram or Mathew for their suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 462 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Prior to our arrival, my boyfriend and I had some reservations about our stay at Fire Mountain. We've never visited this town and never stayed anywhere without television. We did read the website information and guest packet so that helped manage our expectations. Additionally, I read other reviews on this site so I felt well prepared. Getting there, let me just say do NOT try to use your GPS because you will get lost, we did. The owners don't know every twist and turn so they will not be able to guide you to the resort. They recommend in advance that you get a good map to find your way. Once we arrived, the scenery and grounds are breath-taking. It is such a serene environment. We got a good tour and orientation and were escorted to our room in the treehouse. It was a very plain but clean and comfortable room. I think if we could do it over we wouldv'e spent the extra $ and went for a cabin to have more space and ammenities (fireplace, jacuzzi). Also, keep in mind if you stay in the treehouse you will have to walk to the main dining area for breakfast, its a relatively easy walk but it is chilly this time of year and there is a hill. Now comes the best part the food! Breakfast is good but I wish there was more of it. I have a hearty appetitie and expected to get full and go back to the room to take a nap. The highlight was definitely the homemade peach/strawberry preserves (and granola cereal and roasted mixed potatoes). So you will get good healthy food, but just don't expect to get much of it. Which this kind of worked to our benefit because we still had the energy to get up and out and do some sight-seeing, otherwise we might just stay in the bed all day. The owners are very courteous and offered more food when they noticed we didn't get our fill. They also had excellent recommendations for sights and restaurants based on the activity level we wanted. When you plan to stay here, just be ready for no tv, good/small portions of food, very clean accommodations and awesome staff.

Room Tip: Spring for the cabin if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwiggs527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fire_Mountain, Owner at Fire Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

This was a very sweet young couple from Charlotte, NC and we very much enjoyed having them as our guests. We thank this couple for taking the time to write a review of their stay and are pleased that they found the scenery and grounds at Fire Mountain to be breath-taking and the environment serene. We are pleased they felt that their acclimation, orientation and tour of the property were good and that their room was clean and comfortable. To find that they viewed our breakfast cuisine to be the best part of their trip was wonderful! Our homemade peach and strawberry preserves, granola and roasted mixed potatoes are loved by many of our guests! We are very pleased that they found the owners to be courteous and that we had excellent recommendations for sights and restaurants based on the activity level that they desired. We loved that they found staff to be awesome!

But there are some negative comments in this review that we need to examine:

Their arrival – they indicate that they reviewed the Guest Guide that we provide for our guests that they were able to access directly from their email confirmation letter. Unfortunately they never viewed their included Arrival Guide which is titled “Reach the Top of Fire Mountain”. This 4 page Arrival Guide provides in detail directions to Fire Mountain from all the major cities surrounding our area (Charlotte, NC included). The front page of the guide explains that GPS systems do not work well on the Highlands Plateau and that we recommend that you follow our directions. We also provide the correct coordinates and property address so that you can compare our directions to the directions provided on your device if you desire. The device that they used took them to an address in the middle of one of the many country clubs on the Highlands Plateau. We do not know every street in every subdivision in the Highlands. This couple was not able to tell us which main road they turned off of to get to wherever they were when they called. We requested that they go back to a main road and then call and let us know where they were. Finally after several calls they were able to tell us where they were located on one of the three main roads that go in and out of Highlands and we were easily able to direct them to the property at that time. We never recommended that they get a good map to find their way as that was not necessary when using our guide or at the time that they called lost. To compound their frustrations regarding arrival they called at 1:50 pm on their day of arrival to say they were just leaving Charlotte. We provide check-in by reservation within a two hour window so that we may have a staff member waiting at Guest Services & Reception to greet our guests and to provide check-in and acclimation along with guidance and assistance directly to your accommodation. This couple had requested a confirmed arrival window of 2 – 4 pm. Charlotte is a 3 ½ hour drive to Fire Mountain. At that point they would have arrived around 5:30 pm instead of the 2 – 4 pm window requested but then they did not follow our directions which created another arrival delay. Finally they arrived around 6 pm frustrated which was very understandable but we found it extremely strange that they wanted to take their frustrations regarding their late arrival out on Fire Mountain. They never accessed our directions and we provided the best information that we could by phone with the little information that they were able to give us.

Their room – The Sassafras Treehouse accommodation of the Fire Mountain Inn is an excellent value as it is priced on the lower end of our rate scale. As a result our Treehouse accommodations are our most basic accommodations, as they provide the least of the amenities that we provide here at Fire Mountain, and they are very comfortable as indicated by these guests. The “features” link on each accommodation page on our website gives you a list of every amenity provided in each accommodation which allows you to select the amenities, price and location on the mountain that you desire. We are sorry that these folks felt it was somewhat of an inconvenience to have to walk from their accommodation to the main lodge building of the Inn for breakfast. It is an easy walk as indicated and most of our guests are strongly connected to nature and the outdoors and view an easy small walk to breakfast from the Treehouses as a great way to start the day. That is also why we provide a “too scale” map of the property so that guests will know the proximity between buildings when making decisions as to where to stay. These were very young folks but some older folks do not desire to go up and down steps and to have to walk to breakfast so the map does help our guests make decisions as to the accommodation they reserve.

Their breakfast – Our healthy gourmet breakfast is a “grand laid back affair” at Fire Mountain each morning. Our guests love it just as these guests did. For this couple to say that they “wish there was more of it” and “don’t expect to get much of it” and then to say “the owners offered more food when they noticed we didn’t get our fill” is very confusing and very insulting. There is no limit to the amount of breakfast that one is offered at Fire Mountain and we indicate that every morning when the chef announces what is being served that morning. These guests indicate that they have hearty appetites and that they “expected to get full and go back to the room to take a nap”. We don’t have many guests that wake up, go to breakfast, get full and then go back to bed for a nap. Most guests desire a relaxed start to the day along with a healthy gourmet breakfast to give them the fuel to enjoy a fantastic day at Fire Mountain and/or on the Highlands Plateau. We serve breakfast on square white plates that are 7 ¾” x 7 ¾” and are designed such that there is no rim so that you may plate food to the edge unlike a normal round plate 9 ½” in diameter which has a 1 ½ ” rim that gives you a platting surface of only 6 ½” in diameter. This type of plate presents each item better and allows our guests to gage their portions better but you are able to partake of as many plates of each item as you desire. I might add that very few guests have abused that privilege over the 17 years since our inception. We do not want any guest to ever go away hungry. Breakfast at Fire Mountain each morning truly is a “grand laid back affair” and a wonderful way to begin each day of your stay. So please know that we do not serve small portions of food at Fire Mountain for breakfast and that the “small portions” statements made by this couple are a complete misrepresentation of our wonder breakfast.

We extend an invitation for you to be our guests and to allow us the opportunity and privilege to exceed your expectations with a fantastic mountaintop getaway experience at Fire Mountain here in the Southern Highlands! We very much look forward to having the privilege of welcoming this couple back to Fire Mountain as repeat guests!

Hiram Wilkinson
General Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I have been to Fire Mountain many times, and absolutely cherish our time there. No matter how long we stay, we are never ready to leave.We usually stay in the Hemlock cabin and the staff always has everything in perfect order, and so clean and comfortable. The property is very natural and quiet, perfect for a relaxing walk or sitting on your deck. We love how well the staff takes care of the details, yet gives you total privacy. We enjoy cooking on our cabin grill or going to one of the many nice restaurants in Highlands. The sunsets and views are magnificient from the mountain! There is lots of fabulous hiking, fishing, etc. in the surrounding area, and Hiram and Matthew are always happy to provide suggestions. If you are looking to disconnect from the noise and busyness of life, this is the place to come!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A special retreat several miles from town. Upon arrival we were met by one of our wonderful hosts and given all the information we could possibly need to enjoy our stay. There are several great hikes near by, or you can simply enjoy the breathtaking views from your own side porch. Delicious breakfasts totally spoiled us each morning and enjoying other guests around the bonfire on Sat night was a delight. Overall, we'd highly recommend Fire Mountain Inn if you're in the market for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Absolute paradise! This property, stand alone, is no less than enchanted. The views and spectacular sunsets are beyond what we could have imagined. We stayed in the Red Cedar Cabin, clean and very comfortable. The delivered breakfast was delish. I had a massage by David in the art gallery-best I've ever had. My husband is the outdoorsy one and the property itself offers beautiful trails with plenty to see and do nearby for me (the shopper) and for him (the hiker). Our hosts Matthew and Hiram were incredibly warm and welcoming. VERY knowledgable of the best spots to shop for provisions during your stay, as well as excellent fine dining or a quick bite with just a short drive to town (also well-versed in the trails, the difficulty and what to expect). They never steared us wrong-each place they recommended exceeded our expectations. The hosts and staff are discretely present with just the right mix of service and privacy. After 19 years together this was exactly what we needed to reconnect with each other and ground ourselves individually. We leave today, sad to say goodbye but so delighted we found this magical place. We will be back!
Scott & Norma, Columbia, SC

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSB-SAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent a lot of time trying to find the perfect place to spend our 5 year anniversary and I am so happy we chose Fire Mountain. I was looking for a place that is quiet and has great mountain views, yet convenient to the town of Highlands. Fire Mountain met all of our expectations! The views are spectacular. And the service is best I've ever had. They really go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. The rooms are extra clean. We stayed 2 nights and didn't want to leave. We had amazing breakfast each morning (the coffee is really good too). I recommend Fire Mountain to anyone looking for a place away from all of the stressors where you can relax. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cloud Climber in the Inn. I recommend any room on the same side as this one becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rp3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Clean, comfortable, and relaxing is Fire Mountain! It offers everything you could possibly want for a perfect get-away. The property affords breath-taking views and gentle paths for leisurely walks. In addition, its location is ideal for day trips to amazing waterfalls, all degrees of hiking, and panoramic vistas. Thanks to Hiram and Mathew, who have a seemingly unlimited list of things to see and do, our visits have been as varied as they have been memorable. We’re already planning our fifth visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGG005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
218 reviews
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#7 of 7 in Highlands
176 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
8.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $256 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing