We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation location”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights and enjoyed our Red Thunder accommodations. The property is magnificent. Breakfast were plentful, gourmet, fireside, candle lite and delicious. Highlands, nine miles away is a gem. We ate dinner at Cyprus and Rukas. Both were outstanding. You will enjoy your stay at Fire Mountain.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 462 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the Fire Mountain experience. Given our hectic overly connected lifestyle, we were looking for a retreat in the mountains with just the right mixture of luxury and solitude. What we encountered was a fabulous room ( red thunder) with superb furnishings, art work, bedding and an " I never want to go back to the real world" view off the private deck. There is a nice balance of personal service if needed with a complete respect for your privacy if you don't. The resort is about 8-9 miles outside of the Highlands, NC. This is a very upscale mountain community with an unusually high concentration of fine dining establishments. We had 3 really great dinners and there were several additional highly touted restaurants we did not get to try. There are a multitude of outdoor activities within a 5-30 minute drive. We enjoyed several hikes to big mountain vistas as well as several waterfall experiences, a quant mountain lake picnic and a easy canoe trip down the Little Tennessee River.

Hiram, Matthew and staff provide a wonderful breakfast each morning, that we chose to enjoy on our private balcony overlooking the Appalachian Mountains. They were able to provide expert opinion on appropriate outings during our stay. The resort has a small but impressive art gallery and a nice deck to enjoy a glass of wine.

So pack your hiking boots and a couple bottles of wine and leave your computers, phones and troubles at home and go and enjoy the Fire Mountain experience.

Room Tip: Red Thunder. But not if I am going to be there cause I want it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I desperately needed to unplug and unwind. Fire Mountain was the perfect place. My husband and I stayed in a tree house room with beautiful view of the mountains that was peaceful and very quiet. We took a short drive both days to hike to beautiful waterfalls and we watched the sun set and sat by the bon fire both nights. Downtown Highlands was a short drive that offered lots of choices for great food. It was a good place to re-connect after getting away for the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Hiram and Matthew were there to greet us and get us settled in and made sure we had everything we needed throught out our stay. They were the perfect hosts. I absolutely LOVED my weekend getaway from the chaos of our busy, overbooked lives It was exactly what I needed to recharge and the enviroment and accomadations were perfect for just that. My husband who is a tv junkie, has to be "connected" at all times and loves to be in the middle of the action actually really enjoyed the peace and downtime at Fire Mountain. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had 7 days off from work, it was hot and raining at the beach, I needed a change.. I wanted to stay away from people, news, TV, internet.. Fire Mountain Inn, Highlands NC gave that wish to me, my parents loved it..
The roads were exciting to drive on, all those twisty turns, breathtaking mountain views, thick lush green trees, overlooks and waterfalls. Binoculars and cameras are most important items to take with you..
Our stay at Fire Mountain Inn was enchanting, welcoming hospitality, the sunrises, sunsets and walking the grounds, hiking trails, drive through waterfalls.. was a dream come true.. Fishing spots are everywhere, food in Downtown Highlands is superb. I loved the Cypress Restaurant and shop at Colonel Mustard's.. I especially loved the quietness, birds chirping, frogs croaking, drinkable, clean pristine water in faucets, friendly friendly people.. Loved it all, still dreaming of the beautiful views, definitely returning..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saadi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A wonderful place to re-connect with your favorite person (and dog in our case)! After an extremely stressful period of caring for an elderly Mom, we needed this trip in the worst way.
We stayed in Red Cedar and spent alone time there the week of Memorial Day, reading, walking, loved the outstanding breakfast Matthew delivered, loved the firepit, and met some nice people. We also indulged in a massage for each of us (I always try to do this, particularly on vacation, and this was in the top 3 of any massage I've had), and it was wonderful in the art gallery! We never did build a fire in the cabin, but loved the fresh air at night, away from the steamy nights on Hilton Head.
Every employee we met was outstanding at their job performance and friendliness. The maids did a fabulous job cleaning.
Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We would choose the best room in the Inn if we didn't want our aging dog to join us. Cannot wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Fire Mountain several times during the past ten years and each visit has been a wonderful experience. We love the quiet and peaceful environment and treasure each day we spend there. We never want to leave and always look forward to returning. When planning a special anniversary we always talk about going somewhere we have never visited, but oftentimes, our hearts take us back to Fire Mountain. The staff is gracious and accommodating and the views are spectacular. Wish we were there right now. Truly a place to unplug from the world.

Room Tip: The cabins are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelQueen72154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just had the pleasure of staying at Fire Mountain Inn this past weekend. Our expectations were far exceeded. We stayed in the Laurel treehouse room. It offers great privacy with a fantastic view of the mountains. There is a beautiful deck to sit on with a lovely hammock. The bed is super comfortable! The shower could have been a bit bigger but that was the only negative. The room was extremely clean and maintained.
The breakfast both mornings was superb!! Everything was fresh and delicious~ from homemade preserves and pancakes to grits and sausage.
We were treated splendidly the entire time. The location was within 10 minutes from Highlands so everything was quite convenient.
We would happily go back. I bet it is gorgeous in the Fall!!
Thank you Hiram and Matthew for treating us so well.

Room Tip: I loved the Laurel treehouse. Although not really built into a tree you felt like you could have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
218 reviews
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#7 of 7 in Highlands
176 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
8.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $256 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing