We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fire in the hole!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, NJ
1 review
“Fire in the hole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

Fire Mountain is scenic, quiet, remote, and features plenty of relaxing activities. I am 30 and recently went there with my beautiful 29 year old girlfriend. While we were younger than the other couples in attendance, we loved it. The breakfasts are excellent, as are the activities consultations.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brwestho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    17
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
338
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

My husband and I, as well as members of our family, have stayed at Fire Mountain Inn many times over the past ten years. This is a very special place for those who enjoy a a quiet, nature-filled stay. Don't come here if you expect a "Marriott" type pf experience - with TV's, radios, alarms and air conditioners polluting the sounds of nature. Come here if you crave a RELAXING get-away - with spotless accomodations, fabulous breakfasts, and some of the best hiking trails in Western NC. Ask Hiram and Mathew for directions to some of the best hikes - easy to somewhat difficult -according to your ability. Enjoy the gorgeous sunrises and sunsets from atop the mountain. By the way, we always bring our dogs, Buster and Baxter, who also thoroughly enjoy their stay! Enjoy the hot tub - and witness the lovely moon rise over the open fields - and more stars than you could imagine!. Our stays at Fire Mountain have been some of the most memorable of our lives - and we will continue to come back! - Love it! Ray and Joan Grace

  • Liked — Accomodations, Service, Food
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte,NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

We have been going to Fire Mountain for the past ten years for our wedding anniversary. Hiram and Matthew always make sure that our stay is wonderful. The accommodations are fantastic! It's quiet and restful. We love to "hang out" in the hot tub, enjoying the great view. We have talked about taking one of the many hikes or scenic jouneys, but we always just enjoy the seclusion and amenities. The massage was out of this world!We use Fire Mountain to "regroup" and reconnect with each other. Life is hard and there are many things that can make you wonder why you try...Fire Mountain gets you back to understanding that there is a greater force at work here. It's hard not to look at the surrounding beauty, the stars, and the sky, and realize that all is well. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great get-away to anyone (although, we would love to keep it as our own).

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank joface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

We went here for our anniversary and had a splendid time. The homemade breakfasts were fantastic, one morning they had a fresh strawberry jam and delicious biscuits from scratch. We stayed in on of the Treehouse suites and had breathtaking view of the mountains, since it was pretty chilly, we took advantage of the fact that the bed itself faced our porch and the admired the mountains from the comfort of the covers.
The room was a little small, but more cozy than confining and the bathtub wasn't as impressive as the views, but it was clean. We didn't make it to bonfire because we stayed out later than planned seeing Gatlinburg and the National Forest, but at breakfast the next morning some fellow guests told us it was fun.
It was very relaxing, and we would certainly return if we were in the area.

  • Liked — Homemade Breakfast and the View
  • Disliked — Small winding road, difficult to drive at night.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunkymelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

We spent our honeymoon at Fire Mountain and everything was perfect. Upon arrival, our greeter sat with us for almost an hour showing us a map of the area and giving us ideas of what there was to do there. Anything that peaked our interest, they gave us a map and brochures and offered to call and make reservations for us. On our last day there, we had some time to kill before our flight left and we didn't know what to do, so they mapped us to a local gem mine to spend a few hours. (we wish we had more time there!)
We stayed in the Callusaja cabin and would not hesitate to go back. From the already set up fire in the fireplace, to the "welcome snacks" on the table upon arrival and the extremely comfortable down comforter on the bed and the big bath towels, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The jacuzzi tub in the corner of the room with a view of the fireplace was perfect too and was a welcoming thought after many hours of hiking!
My new husband was not so sure about staying in a place with no TV or radio but by the time we were ready to leave, he was looking for a reason to come back! We had a wonderful time and if you're looking for a relaxing getaway from the busy world, Fire Mountain is the perfect place to get away from it all!

  • Liked — the views and the remoteness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missa0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

I was looking for a quiet mountain retreat to celebrate my husband's birthday, and boy did I find it and whole lot more! Fire Mountain Inn had gorgeous views, outstanding service, and a very well appointed private cabins. (There are other accommodations, but I can't speak to them.) There are kitchens if you choose to cook, but you can also have your gourmet breakfast delivered to the door. There was a wood burning fireplace with accoutrements, a deck for outdoor dining, and a large jacuzzi tub inside. There is also a hot tub on site, again, we didn't utilize this amenity.

Additionally, I wished to arrange a fishing trip for my husband, and the staff had it all in place without any effort on my part. Fire Mountain Inn is located just outside of downtown Highlands, far enough to be out of town without having to drive a great deal to get to great shopping and restaurants. We already are planning our next trip!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

Even though it's been 3 weeks since we returned from our New Year's visit to Fire mountain, my wife and I continue to say 'wish we were at Fire Mountain' when life in the real world gets busy. This was our 3rd visit to Fire Mountain and 2nd time staying in the Cullasaja cabin. One feature that we love about Fire Mountain is the way they welcome our dogs, two Golden Retrievers, with their own bowls, treats, and general interest in them. Yes, we do pay a little extra and do pay a deposit and do cleanup after them, but having our pets with us on vacation is well worth it. There is much to do around Highlands including waterfalls, hikes, shopping, and eating. For this visit, we generally chose to just relax and enjoy our cabin, the fireplace and the scenery of Fire Mountain. The staff is so friendly and so interested in making sure we are having a great time, answering any questions and providing us with suggestions on places to eat and things to do outside the detailed information they provide in the room. In addition to the fruit provided upon check-in, we were surprised with chocolate and champagne to enjoy on New Year's Eve. We are counting the days to when we can return and hope to spend a relaxing 10th anniversary vacation at Fire Mountain and enjoy yet another gorgeous sunset on the top of the mountain.

  • Liked — Mountain views, real fires in the fireplace, vacationing with dogs
  • Disliked — Price is a little high but there is no place we found like this
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymoussfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
8.3 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.2 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
8.1 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Property: Fire Mountain Inn
Address: 700 Hickory Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing