We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy 49th Birthday Sweetheart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
“Happy 49th Birthday Sweetheart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I surprised my husband Chris on his 49th birthday by blindfolding him and whisking him away for three days and two nights to Fire Mountain located in Highlands NC. We had such a wonderful time and were thrilled with our accommodations as well as the incredibly helpful and hospitable staff of Fire Mountain. They helped us line up horse back riding and fly fishing. The property sits atop a mountain with 60+ mile views across God's glorious creation! Our room and the entire property is meticulously maintained and a joy to admire. Fire Mountain is a complete escape, "off the grid" experience! If you are looking to unwind and enjoy peace, calm, tranquility and rest --- Fire Mountain is the place!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a room with the sunset view! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    15
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
315
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful Labor Day weekend at Fire Mountain in the Highlands, N.C. My husband outdid himself this time as he is getting very good at finding these exceptional places to stay. We arrived on a beautiful afternoon to find a carefully arranged silver tray with champagne and homemade chocolate-covered strawberries. This is one of the many services a guest can request. Every Inn guest can enjoy compimentary GOURMET (I capitalize for emphasis) breakfast. Each breakfast includes homemade dishes from breads, egg dishes, fresh garden fruit and veggies, right down to the mountain's own home-grown strawberry jam harvested in the spring by chef and co-property manager Matthew, who has over 30 yrs in the hospitality industry. Guests can also order in advance, a gourmet breakfast delivered to your room and "artfully" presented in a beautiful basket. In addition to breakfasts, a guest may order a special lunch or dinner basket as well.

Speaking of "art" - the grounds and buildings of Fire Mountain have frequent displays of art including statuettes, busts, paintings, and pen and ink drawings located strategically throughout. They even have their own "Art Gallery" room where guests can enjoy their latest display of local art, practice music, or enjoy their morning yoga. Co-manager Hiram explained to me that he searches extensively to provide top-quality services such as massage to guests, which also can be offered in the "art gallery".

The staff is very knowledgeable about the area and can guide guests to great local restaurants and hiking trails that are specific to each guests preferences.

Go prepared to leave your work, home, or other worries behind as Fire Mountain is rustic with no TV’s, radio’s, etc are available. They are also an Ec0-friendly establishment and don’t have air-conditioning but they don’t need it. We were there during the Hurricane Isaac’s humidity back-lash and I, of all people, would have felt it if anyone did. The drive up from the main road and to all rooms and cabins is a gravel, one-way drive at points, but the view is spectacular from many points once you are there.
Needless to say - We were thrilled with our 1st visit to Fire Mountain and will be back

Patty and Phil

Room Tip: This place can book up so make reservations in advance and talk with either Matthew or Hiram regardi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyd915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Serenity. Quietude. Tranquility. Rejuvenating. Relaxing. These are five reasons why we continue to enjoy our Fire Mountain Inn experiences. For our most recent visit (Labor Day Weekend 2012), we enjoyed the (immaculate) Pottery Barn meets rustic privacy of the Red Cedar cabin.

As a photographer, I love the bucolic vistas that includes horses, cows, farm land, bonfire and sunsets.

This link will take you to 30 of my 360-degree panorama images of Fire Mountain Inn that I have taken during multiple stays:
http://www.tourwrist.com/panos/49652

Fire Mountain Inn continues to be a great place to un-plug and re-charge. It's a special treat.
We look forward to our next escape. And, to visit the scenic Nantahala National Forest waterfallsand trails; and the restaurants in Highlands; particularly, Cyprus (a restaurant by and for foodies).

Room Tip: You may find my 360-degree panoramic images of The Fire Mountain Inn helpful in deciding on a Cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smigrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our second stay at Fire Mountain this year--our first was in March 2012 for my wife's birthday. We returned to Fire Mountain over the Labor Day weekend for a much needed break. Fire Mountain is a magical, relaxing, peaceful mountain-top resort with no TVs, clocks, computers, fax machines, or telephones. Once we arrived at Fire Mountain, we did not want to leave--even to go into the nearby town! The rooms are simple but beautiful; the service is outstanding; the property is magnificant; the gourmet breakfast is delicious; and the views are breathtaking. The overall feeling is one of peace and rest. Mathew and Hiram are very attentive and addressed our every need. We are already thinking about a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Secluded, beautiful - amazing views. We vacation in the mountains often and have been to some exceptional places. This ranks among our new favorites. The proximity to Highlands was a definite plus where quaint shops and excellent dining were found. The breakfast was unbelievable - fresh, prepared with attention to detail, and out of this world. Matthew and Hiram gave us great advice regarding where to go and what to see. It was absolutely perfect - a wonderful experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There really is a problem at Fire Mountain; you never want to leave. Peaceful, tranquil days. Superb hosts. Sumptuous breakfasts. Pleasant accommodations. Breathtaking views of the mountains and the sunsets.
Courteous and efficient employees.
The world needs more Fire Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having endured a very hot and humid summer in central Virginia, Fire Mountain was more than a welcome respite. The spot - I hesitate to use superlatives, but not overdoing here - heavenly. The beauty was beyond, the air clear and cool, the vibe ever so restful. One only needs to bring a good book (I left mine, but Hiram, ever on top of things, is sending as I peck . Fire Mountain does have a small library and board games on premises), hiking shoes, a camera, sweatshirt (in August!), and a willingness to just drop everything. Our room was clean, airy (love the openness - no ac necessary here), and cozy / comfortable. I could not stop taking pictures from our deck that offered non-stop panoramic views. Fire Mountain is about 9 miles from the town of Highlands on a winding but lovely road. Keep that in mind as you plan your trip. Oh, and the breakfasts! Culinary delights in the midst of mountain clouds.

Room Tip: Cloud Climber - perfect! Views astounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellegb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
8.3 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#7 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.2 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Property: Fire Mountain Inn
Address: 700 Happy Hill Road, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing