We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway heaven”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went to Fire Mountain Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We stayed in the Laurel tree house. It was fantastic! I would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet retreat to enjoy each others company. Matthews breakfast were fantastic and we were treated like royalty. Thank You so much for making this a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were looking for an inn around Highlands for a relaxing, "unplug" vacation and this special spot even has a wonderful vista. The innkeepers/owners were especially accomodating to be sure we had information about whatever "recreation" we wanted to pursue. The breakfasts were delicious and served in the dining overlooking the beautiful view. The decor in the common areas and in the rooms sets a very peaceful mood and the area is so quiet, it puts you into relaxation immediately. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our anniversary. In all my travels, I have never stayed at a more perfect place. Every single aspect of the trip was amazing! The cleanest rooms, the best mountain views, the best food, the best service, and the friendliest staff. Mathew and Hiram were so welcoming, they made us feel like we were old friends coming back home for a visit. They made great recommendations on the recreational activities in the area as well. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone without hesitation! Thank you Mathew and Hiram for blessing us with such a memorable trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Inn, which was amazing but we also viewed a Treehouse and a Cabin and they all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Fire Mountain Inn. The hosts/owners of the Inn were wonderfully nice and inviting. I would recommend this great getaway to anyone looking for a great view, privacy, a relaxing time in a jacuzzi, etc. One of my favorite memories is a night in front of the roaring campfire.

Room Tip: This was my second trip to the cabin portion of the Inn and they have different types of cabins that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrtise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are looking to stay at a B&B or hotel right in Highlands, NC, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, Fire Mountain Inn merits your most serious consideration if you are looking for a mountain retreat beautifully situated atop a mountain outside of Highlands.

Located between Dillard, GA and Highlands, NC (~ 20 min outside of Highlands), Fire Mountain Inn is accessed by a gravel road winding up to the Fire Mountain property.

You are greeted by Matthew and/or Hiram, and they take time to both check you in and to orient you to the surrounding area. Whether you are looking for restaurants, hiking, shopping, or all of the above, they know the area and are happy to help you sort through possibilities and options.

The rooms and the property are exactly as described on the Fire Mtn Inn website. We opted for a west-facing room and were extremely happy with our selection. The views were excellent, especially being above the clouds in the morning.

The breakfasts are amazing! Fire Mtn Inn is a retreat of sorts, and hence breakfast is not served until 9:30 a.m. Coffee is ready earlier. Relax, enjoy the views and the overall atmosphere, and you will be rewarded with an outstanding breakfast made with locally fresh ingredients.

Fire Mtn Inn makes an excellent base for exploring the surroundings mountains and towns. You wake up relaxed, and are well nourished before heading off to the mountains, valleys, hollows, shops, and towns. And, when your day is over, you are happy to return to this place of peace and beauty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our most recent visit to Fire Mountain last week had three goals - celebrate our wedding anniversary, escape the suffocating heat that enveloped Raleigh, NC and RELAX and unplug from the world. As usual, Fire Mountain came through for us. We stayed in our favorite cabin - Cullasaja - and it was wonderful - just as we remembered it. We celebrated our anniversary dinner at the Cyprus at the suggestion of Hiram, and it was absolutely perfect. The weather was cool and sometime rainy - just what we craved. My husband enjoyed a relaxing massage, I read book(s) with the sound of the rain on the roof - which lulled me to sleep.. again, just what I craved. We will return to Fire Mountain again and again!

Ray and Joan Grace

Room Tip: Cullasaja and Hemlock cabins are our favorites. The Red Thunder room in the Inn is just spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

There are two Highlands; main street with its boutique stores and fashionable restaurants and high priced accommodations and a similar scene that plays out at most major tourist destinations whether it be Seaside, Bar Harbor or Sonoma.
Then, there is the real thing. A shift in attitude as you approach on the gravel road away from the hustle of the tourist town, welcoming hosts and a simple, elegant space to envelop.
Fire Mountain is all that.
If you truly read the website, print out the concise, well written recommendations and look at the pictures (including the wonderful guest pictures on this site), you will know exactly what to expect. What you won’t know for sure until you are sitting on your porch is how much this Highlands is restorative and authentic.
The Innkeepers were gracious, unobtrusive and experts on the area. The accommodations were pristine—towels were top-notch, linens were crisp and luxurious and the furnishings were simple, elegant and uncommon---reminiscent of Pottery Barn and a favorite sun porch. Every detail had been attended to—and personalized. We wanted a specific kind of experience—reconnecting, staring into space and some vigorous hikes. Our hosts mapped out our day, down to the smallest details and armed with print-outs and the benefit of their years of experience, we had a wonderful weekend.
We stayed in the Red Thunder room in the Inn and breakfast was provided. It was delicious and gourmet—fresh from the garden-- homemade strawberry jam, pancakes, eggs and an assortment of juices, granola and more. We were delighted!
Staff knew before we did that we would cancel our trendy restaurant reservation and retreat to our porch with its tasteful and comfortable furniture to share a take-out gourmet dinner from one of the area’s shops. They offered a picnic backpack filled with linens and dishware and offered to refill it with clean items between hikes! The real Highlands—mountain walks, breezes that float through your room, and the absence of the noise that accompanies most of us in our day to day is present at Fire Mountain. The grounds encompass several cabins, the Inn and fields, gardens and paths. It is secluded in that the “other” Highlands is within reach but not intrusive. We saw guests on their porches or roaming the paths but at no time did I feel encroached upon or crowded. I must admit, I was slightly worried about the heat before we arrived---a primary reason for our escape. The elevation, ceiling fans and cross breezes were a fabulous antidote to the temps in Atlanta. I felt renewed and enjoyed the reprieve from the humidity and the blast of air conditioning.
In reading the other reviews, I must admit I am puzzled by those who gave the Inn a less than stellar rating. I have to surmise that they did not read the website or that this experience of a mountain retreat was not what they had in mind. There are plenty of accommodations in the area with the familiarity and sameness that is found in any hotel. In fact, in planning our trip, we had considered and discarded the hotels and B and B’s that seemed to favor a country look and the hotels that offered big chain perks. It felt incongruous with what Highlands is all about.

Fire Mountain offers much more---an escape, not too far, with the accoutrements and experiences that will let you know you have truly changed your perspective. We wholeheartedly and without hesitation recommend Fire Mountain and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Read each description carefully on the website to see what works best for you; floor plans and photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
228 reviews
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
8.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $186 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing