We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Highlands, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KnoxTiger
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Everything about this house is perfect: the view, the setting, the comfort. The living area is wide open, great for entertaining and offers wonderful mountain views from the wall to wall window. The appointments are both comfortable and upscale with great detail. The back deck offers stunning views of the North Carolina mountains. The deck is large with plenty of room for gathering. During the day it is a perfect place to drink coffee, read or think relaxing thoughts. In the evening it is the right place for huddling around the fire pit laughing and sharing stories. The sleeping quarters are all very comfortable and allow personal space until gathering for breakfast around the huge copper plated island. The surrounding areas offers something for everyone: shopping, hiking, fishing or just relaxing in a natural setting. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is simply amazing!
Liked least: Not enough time.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris and...
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and amazing house to gather with friends!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

It's even more fabulous than it looks! Don't wait to book it - I know it's what you are looking for.

We traveled with two other couples from Knoxville TN and by the time we got there we were thrilled! Not only does this place have the most amazing view from the expansive deck, it has the most desireable floorplan for hanging out with good friends you could ask for. All 4 bedrooms are well furnished and comfy and each has a full bathroom. The kitchen is wide open to a great room area with two wonderfully comfortable sitting areas in front of a gorgeous stone wood burning fireplace. All this walks out onto the huge deck with a totally unobstructed view for miles and miles [and miles!]. There are no neighbors nearby, and the driveway is flat with ample parking and a carport. The town of Highlands is to die for cute and just a very short drive. Lots of great upscale shopping and quaint restaurants. There are many many hiking trails to waterfalls and lookouts all around the Highlands and nearby the house. For us, we were most content sitting out on the deck for hours around the firepit or gathered around the giantic and utterly unique copper island in the kitchen. Everywhere you turned you saw great views, darling decor and wonderful little personal touches the owners have obvious put thought in to. You can tell they spend time here and it's nto just a rental house to them. We have rented many wonderful vacation homes all over the US and this one is calling us to come back soon. You will find everything you could want or need except enough time before you are forced to go home. We'll be back - thanks to the owners of Hawk Heights!...your friends in Knoxville.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the space for gathering friends.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finneya22
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This was the perfect getaway! The view is spectacular and the home is extremely cozy! We built a fire inside and out during our visit and the deck was just wonderful to enjoy your morning cup of coffee. The home was very spacious and was close to downtown Highlands. The subdivision was secluded and perfect for a walk. I highly recommend this to family and friends. I will stay again...hopefully sooner than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View and Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewed August 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Carolina
Reviewed June 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2015
We hope you will come back and try Hawk Heights again. The owners listen to ALL requests/comments and take action to remedy. There are now:
* luggage racks added to every bedroom
* A bench has been added to the Master Bedroom
* In addition to the massive wood burning fireplace in the Great room, there is now a GAS LOG fire pit on the covered porch, and a WOOD BURNING FIRE PIT and a rock patio on overlooking the view.
* The older deck railing has been replaced with a virtually invisible railing that allows one to have an unobstructed view. (However, it is suggested that all children be monitored while anywhere in the mountains)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing