We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had by all”
Review of The Ugly Dog Pub

The Ugly Dog Pub
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The Ugly Dog Pub is a casual pub with food, beer, wine and mixed drinks. A great place to come meet friends or make friends. We feature Trivia Tuesday nights, Bluegrass music on Wednesdays and regional bands on Friday or Saturday nights. We also show sports on TV and special events to keep it fun. We are a relaxed place, so come on in and take a seat, or walk up to the bar and order a drink and something to eat. Hope to see you soon! We are open: Mon. 4pm - until Tues. thru Sun. 11:30 am - until
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We all went have drinks and conversation and had a great time,.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryBNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    216
    59
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place for a beverage”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Nice place to sit down for a drink. Typical bar food but fun place overall

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 nights at Ugly Dog”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We were in Highlands for 2 nights and ate at the Ugly Dog both nights. The first night was a great experience. They weren't very crowded, and service was exceptional. We sat at the bar and ordered from their beer selection, which was good, both draft and bottle. For food we had the house salad, very fresh and a nice combination of flavors, and the smoked wings. We stayed for a few hours, and the two bartenders were very personable and genuinely seemed to enjoy their job. The second night was much more crowded when we arrived. They had a weekly bluegrass band in the far room, which was at a noise level that allowed the bar and seating area to still enjoy the conversation. We ordered the special, the Prime Rib Sandwich and a greek salad. I felt that the house salad from the night before was so much better, mostly due to the greens. The greek salad is made from what seems to be iceberg, while the house is fresh mixed greens. I also feel like the "prime rib" sandwich was better off being called a steak sandwich, although it was tasty. Overall the Ugly Dog is a great option for a fun, casual meal at a good price in a town where there aren't many low price, casual options.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Who's In Charge?”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Upon entering a waiter was exiting with a female and told us to come on in as he left. We seated ourselves (no menu or greeting by staff), waited for about seven minutes for service then left. Upon walking out the waiter we saw coming in was sitting on the bench outside smoking with the female. He asked if we had decided on something!
We said "not yet" and left. We found Highlands Smokehouse down the road and had a great meal there. Thanks to the UGLY DOG! We are sure we had a better meal at the Smokehouse than you cared to attempt to provide! (WE SPENT $50.00 AT THE SMOKEHOUSE;-)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TimandSherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, AL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very "Pub" atmosphere. Loved it!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Similar to British pub. Good menu of appetizers, sandwiches, pizzas with upscale touches. Good selection of draft beers and more. Good value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Dog Pub also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Ugly Dog Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing