We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Town is a Ghost Town...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlands Inn Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Lanier
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But Town is a Ghost Town...”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We arrived on the King Holiday Sunday for one night! Very GOOD price! The hotel was quite and as diamond members we were upgraded to a balcony room! Nice! However the heater ran very loud all night! Good white sound.... Went for dinner and only two restaurants opened were pizza! We had pizza. Nothing else really opened. Closed for season.
We had a great breakfast in the am and headed to Scaly Mountain for some fun snow tubing! Were able to get a late check out for later.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank savagetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
30
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
445 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

For a get away long weekend we stayed at this Hampton Inn for 3 nights while we enjoyed the town of Highlands, NC. We found this hotel to be comfortable, clean & the workers friendly & helpful. While we drove to town that was a few blocks away, it could be walked.
We really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyons,ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The hampton inn was a perfect place for someone to stay . My family loved it so much we go up there every christmas and celebrate the joy and laughter of this wonderful place. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The location is lovely. The rooms were in perfect shape.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaysonkc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This place was shabby and the predominant thing we were aware of was the strong smell of Lysol like spray in the room and in the halls with an undercurrent of moldiness.
Will not be staying in any of the Hilton hotels again since they have proved unreliable once again. They have a 100% gaurantee which did me no good since I had prepaid to get a better rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Found room rates $79-99/nt online.Asked the front office to honor the online rates.
They refused quoting their best rate of $116/nt plus tax and up.They told me to go
elsewhere or book the room online myself.This particular hotel was not helpful
at all unlike all other Hampton Inns I have been to who have all honored the best
internet rate.

The bed was comfortable.The window AC in the room was very noisy awakening me
when the compressor kicked in.Mountain view rooms are really pakring lot view
rooms.Breakfast was microwaved yukky artificial egg dripping something that
resembled ham was frozen solid and would not thaw evenly in the microwave
after several attempts.Worst breakfast ever.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qwovadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaycor, owner at Highlands Inn Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
My definition of Rate bait and switch would be when a reservation is made, confirmed and booked for a particular room type and rate, then switched to a cheaper, less desirable accommodation while still charging the highest rate. Hampton Inn Highlands has never had a $79 rate in July, perhaps January. The $99 rate was for a standard double smoking room that this guest made, online, only after the Guest Service Representative could not pull up a $99 rate for the King, non smoking, fireplace, patio room that was requested to be given for the $99 rate, as our Hampton Inn complies with a strict rate integrity policy. An AARP 10% discount of $116.10 was offered on the room that was desired. Upon return to the Hampton inn Highlands with a confirmation of a double, smoking standard room at $99 and demanding the King, non smoking, fireplace, patio room for the same price, the Guest Service Respresentative was able to override the system, offering an upgrade to this room type for the $99 rate. There are no deceptive bait and switch tactics here, just a case of wanting something for nothing. I do not beleive in distorting the truth to make someone or an establishment look bad, just stating the true facts. Hampton Inn Highlands does not promote a wonderful mountain view, only rooms with balconies and patios, which are heavily requested as guest favorites. We are situated on the top of a mountain, thereby offering no mountain views because of that. We are situated in the town of Highlands, perched on a hill. Our Parking lot surrounds and encompasses our building and just Beyond that, our property boasts a lily paded pond with trees, wooded area and green lawn, Should a guest choose the side of the Inn with the balcony or patio. Our Breakfast is standard Hampton Inn breakfast fare. Offered in our baked zones, one would find danish, otis spunkmeyer muffins, bagels, english muffins and wheat bread. Our Hot Zone is supplied with favorites such as Ham and cheese biscuits, pancake sausage, french toast, omelets, breakfast quesidillas,chicken biscuits and a few more that fail to come to mind at the moment. These products are frozen products that must be heated in the microwave, just the same as were you to purchase from your grocery. Our Hampton Inn does not have a commercial kitchen facility, which is required by local health department law to provide a full, hot breakfast. In addition to our breakfast items, we also offer fruit cups, yogurt, grits and oatmeal packets, juices, hot chocolate and freshly brewed coffees. Hampton Inn is a mid priced, limited service chain. Our HVAC units are thru the wall units and are not as quiet, as perhaps, one's own central heat and air at home. It has never been our practice to be deceptive or unfair, dishonest or otherwise. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. We value our guests opinion and we have some really wonderful patrons of our establishment that come back time after time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

It was a warm February weekend and we made a short trip to the mountains. The hotel was nice, clean and affordable for February. The heat worked too well and kept the room rather warm. The breakfast was good. There was not a lot open for supper Sunday night. So beware if you come in the winter on the weekend.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachBelle8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Originally called and booked a King Balcony. We arrived a bit early (around 12:30) Front desk said our room should be ready at 2:30. Returned at 2:30 and room was still not ready. Returned at 3:45. Room was still not ready. The front desk upgraded our room to a King Suite. Room was fabulous and we had a great stay. Would highly recommend The Log Cabin Restaurant above the hotel. It is a bit pricy but well worth the money.

  • Liked — Bedding and large bath
  • Disliked — Too much furniture crammed into the suite
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LDiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.1 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.2 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn Lodge

Property: Highlands Inn Lodge
Address: 96 Log Cabin Ln, Highway 106 and Spring Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Hampton Inn Highlands)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlands Inn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Highlands Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands
Hampton Inn Highlands
Highlands Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing