We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old premium room with a view and fireplace consisted of a view of the parking lot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlands Inn Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old premium room with a view and fireplace consisted of a view of the parking lot”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

During season this motel is expensive and needs to be redone. The room decor is very dated. Only plastic cups in the bathroom. Towels are extremely thin. However the staff is very nice
Find another hotel in the Highlands. This one has seen better days

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiskeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
30
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was previously a Hampton Inn. It has inside entry but was older. The carpet was gross but I wore my flip flops and was ok. The breakfast was free and very nice. No exercise room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByebyeHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a group of eight ladies on a 3-day get-away. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms and common areas were clean and comfortable. Very quiet area. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a Hampton Inn that has gone independent. Great front desk staff. A/C unit in my first room was broken. The front desk clerk immediately admitted that they had had numerous problems with that room's A/C unit and switched me to another room. (Why had that issue not already been addressed by management?) The next morning it was painfully obvious that management was trying to save money by cutting back on their breakfast buffet. It was not the usual Hampton Inn fare, but a noticeable step down; no hot breakfast items. The soap in the rooms has got to be the smallest bar that can be bought. Most Hampton Inns do a great job because they want the business travelers' repeat business. This former Hampton Inn is now a "gotcha" property. I doubt they have many repeat customers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a stay at this pleasant lodge in the woods. While a little weathered, it is a very nice place. It was clean and the bed was really comfortable.....slept like a baby. Breakfast had a nice variety and the entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. You are within a 5 minute drive to the downtown area of Highlands which has terrific shopping and top notch restaurants. Also within a 20 minute drive to surrounding towns and beautiful waterfalls. Take a leisurely visit to the Highlands Inn Lodge and the town of Highlands in the beautiful NC mountains....you will not be dissappointed. I will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank LindarellaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We arrived with a large group-25 rooms in all on Friday April 27, 2012. Many of the rooms were not ready at 7 pm at night. The front desk clerk was frustrated and complaining how the morning staff had not printed out paperwork nor prepared key cards for our arrival. My room was adequate but not a Hampton inn. when making coffee in the morning there was an old dried, mildew coffee pad in the coffee maker and when presenting it to the front desk staff on Saturday, April 28th morning his comment was "oh, I will tell the housekeeping staff". The breakfast was lack luster with two items for choices in the microwave hot breakfast category, and other items sparsely presented, but the bar was obviously not prepared for 40 hungry men in the am. The ice machine and vending machine on the 2nd floor didnt' work and the front desk response was that they had told maintenance for weeks now but they haven't fixed it. The building was not secured as I used one of the "Caution Wet Floor" signs to prop the outside entrance to the stairwell on Friday the 27th of April and Saturday morning the door was still propped open. it was obvious that this hotel was lackluster at best and certainly not a Hampton Quality hotel. . .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryBNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a nice hotel, clean and comfortable despite beginning to show some age. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby and breakfast area was very cozy and comfortable and nicely decorated with a mountain lodge theme. A very basic continental breakfast is provided but coffee and tea provided 24/7 was a nice touch. Will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letsgo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.1 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.2 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#4 of 7 in Highlands
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn Lodge

Property: Highlands Inn Lodge
Address: 96 Log Cabin Ln, Highway 106 and Spring Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Hampton Inn Highlands)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlands Inn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Highlands Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands
Hampton Inn Highlands
Highlands Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing