We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and food!”
Review of Highlands Smokehouse - CLOSED

Highlands Smokehouse
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
325 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good service and food!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Service was prompt and friendly. Smoked Pimento Cheese appetizer was great! Pulled pork and chicken plates were good. Their home made BBQ sauces are good as well. Not an extensive wine list, but Red Tree and Shooting Star were good wines to choose from.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HiTownMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    19
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We ate here on Dec 27, the last day of our trip. We are so glad we decided to stop here! The food was delicious, and the service was great. I had the BLT sandwich with mashed potatoes and corn pudding. We actually ordered a pint of those sides to go. Now back in Florida we are really craving BBQ, but nothing compares to Highlands Smokehouse. We'll sure be back one day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maferdeknegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highlands has better to offer”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The stew is very good. The corn pudding seemed not to be fresh. I had the trout special. Nothing to write home about but OK. My wife had the BBQ potato and had to send it back due to not being warm enough. She rated it as good. We have eaten there three times before and would not recommend the BBQ or the fries. The food server more interested in the ball games than taking care of our table. As echoed by others the service is very, very slow.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and BBQ”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We tried several items on the menu, fried pickles, onion rings with chipotle remoulade, brisket french dip, and pulled pork plate. The onion rings with chipotle remoulade are a new menu item and you have to ask for them and they are a must try! The brisket french dip is a very creative way of doing bbq and it is highly recommended! All three of the house made BBQ sauces were great and our favorite was the spicy carolina. They have a good beer menu for those who enjoy craft beer. We had a great experience and will definitely be back the next time we come down to NC.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times. The main dish is pretty good. I had pulled pork and my wife had brisket and it was good. Their sides are not so good. My green beans were hard and I gave up after a couple of bites. My wife's baked beans were not very good. My brother in law's mac and cheese was average. The service was good and they have several TVs for watching the game.

Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Smokehouse also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing