We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands Smokehouse - CLOSED

Highlands Smokehouse
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food was awesome. Friendly staff. Beautiful location. Highly recommend! We would not hesitate to stop here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmk95977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    19
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went with a group of 6 people and each person thoroughly enjoyed their meal! Everything was delicious! However, there are a couple of items on their menu that they don't carry anymore which we didn't find out until someone tried to order those items. Also, there's an automatic 18% gratuity added to any parties of 6 or more. The only really negative thing about our meal was the fact that the men's room was out of order so all patrons had to share the one toilet in the ladies room; but wait, the LOCK on the ladies room door was broken! All in all, the broken lock, toilet, and inaccurate menus are very easy to fix and did not detract from the excellent meals and service. I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's yummy - good place to stop and have some BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This place has good food, tasty sides and lots of beverages to choose from. I enjoyed a brisket sandwich dip and collards - all good - we have eaten here a few times and liked the food each time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace4696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

On June 8, 2013, we held our daughters wedding reception at Highlands Smokehouse. The service and food was fantastic. All of our guests had a fantastic time and raved about the dinner, which included ribs,pulled pork,brisket,pulled chicken and five different sides. The staff went above and beyond to ensure the comfort and service to our guests. What a great night! Can't thank you all enough for a perfect night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BBQ to go. I wish I did not.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Smokehouse was highly rated and recommended. After a day of white water rafting on the Chattooga river with Annie our guide at Wild Water which was GREAT we wanted to grab BBQ and relax in our room.
We had the pulled pork dinner with Mac n cheese and beans and the brisket dinner with fries and cole slaw. As I walked up there was no wood burning BBQ smell which I associate with good BBQ should have been my clue not to order.
The sliced brisket was tough and without any smoke ring. It appeared that it was oven cooked.
The pulled pork was greasy and was without any smokey flavor.
The French fries were frozen. The beans were very good as was the slaw.
We threw out most of our dinners.
If you like good BBQ do NOT go to Smokehouse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikeroe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Smokehouse also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing