We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanksgiving in the Highlands!”
other travelers have booked this property
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
View from hall of the great room/sunroom.  Woodburning fireplace.  Fully equipped kitchen that is open to the eating/living/sunroom areas.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
View from hall of the great room/sunroom.  Woodburning fireplace.
Fully equipped kitchen that is open to the eating/living/sunroom areas.
Open kitchen and living area as seen from the sunroom.
Jaccuzi tub/shower in hall bathroom.
Loft access from sunroom via spiral staircase.
Loft sitting area with large windows on front of house.
Loft area on back of house with overflow sleeping.
View from loft to sunroom below and one of the two sets of french doors leading to covered deck.
Entrance from carport  into mudroom/laundry room.
Bedroom no 3--antique double bed.
Master BR with king pillow top
Master bath with oversize tiled shower.
Master bath shower.
2nd bedroom-- 2 double beds.
Street view with overflow parking in foreground.
View from deck of driveway to street below.
New in 2017....our covered deck.
April 2017 completion of roof extension to cover the deck.
Plenty of seating on covered deck for rainy day enjoyment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Highlands, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dcora26
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Thanksgiving in the Highlands!”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had an incredible Thansgiving vacay at the Highlands! This rental was clean, comfy and close to town. Everything we were looking for !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon O
Greenville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Close to Main St. Yet feels like you are in the mountains. Well appointed, cozy home offers lots of room and amenities. Will stay there again when in the area. Owner pleasant to work with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling...
Birmingham, Al
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay In Highlands”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have visited Highlands/Cashiers/Sapphire Valley many times and this is the best place we've ever stayed! The house was clean, comfortable, and very convenient to town. We had a 5-10 minute walk into Highlands to enjoy all the great restaurants and shopping. There was a small fishing lake just down the street. The only time we needed a car was to get to the numerous hiking trails and waterfalls.

When we arrived we had a few questions about how some of the electronics, etc worked and got quick response from the owner via text or e-mail. She was also helpful in recommending good restaurants and things to do.

We plan to go again next year and will definitely rent this house again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissaka...
South Salem, Ohio
1 review
“Lovely Home!”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our vacation at this home. Fun to walk to town and near waterfalls. Comfortable accommodations and beautiful setting!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whithear
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful, quite and beautiful accomodation”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the second time in 7 months we have rented this home. We love Highlands and the surrounding area and this house is so convenient just a short walk from the town center (5 minutes) shops and restaurants. The home is well accommodated and very comfortable and the owners are really nice people, helpful and very responsive. Just a great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearless2...
1 review
“The house has a mountain feeling but, you can walk to downtown!”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house is very nice with a lot of character. The updates on the house were great. The lady I rented it from was very nice and helpful with information about Highlands. The location could not have been any better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaggship
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place close to downtown Highlands, nature center, trails/hiking and all of Highlands' favorite places. Owner was very helpful and clear with instructions. The house felt like we were staying at a friend's place and was very well maintained which made us want to take care of it as such. Fairly wooded lot so that we got to enjoy the area's natural feel, and just a quick walk to a duck pond to watch sunsets. We have stayed in Highlands many times and this house felt like it gave us the quintessential experience of this lovely town. Can't say enough how comfortable and cozy it was. We had a young child with us (5yrs) and she loved it too. Great place to be if you want to be close to natural areas or the downtown. Walk to 'Mountain Fresh' (about 10 minutes) for breakfast, lunch and groceries. Also great place for small family dinner or staying in to watch a movie. Just right! Thanks so much for sharing your home! We have no need to look for another place if we stay in Highlands again. Only thing I would mention before coming is that there is not much parking, just enough for 2-3 cars, we only had 2 cars, no problem but had another family member visit. The driveway is steep but we are familiar with that in Highlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a mountain cabin but with modern amenaties
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing