We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat The Peach Salad”
Review of Ruka's Table - CLOSED

Ruka's Table
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Street
Transit: Public Transportation is not available in Highlands. Private transportation is available through a "For Hire" service in the Highlands/Cashiers area. You may contact them by calling 828-526-8645 or emailing chasdash@rocketmail.com
Description: Ruka's Table embodies the spirit of Highlands with a casual but elegant atmosphere, excellent food and service, and a commitment to quality that we believe is unequaled. We buy as much local produce as possible to sustain our farming communities. Ruka's menu is an array of specials, salads, soups, appetizers, entrees, and desserts that are 100% house made from the finest quality ingredients that we can purchase. Our steaks are local, dry aged, hormone free meats of the highest grade. Our menu has a variety of seafood and poultry dishes and includes daily specials and our take on southern specialties. Ruka's features a beautiful, copper topped, full service bar that offers full menu dining and a huge assortment of craft beer, specialty cocktails, and a fantastic wine list. The bar is flanked by a large stone fireplace, and is situated under a 30 foot, beamed, cathedral ceiling.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat The Peach Salad”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Recently, we had lunch at Ruka's and figure once it is discovered will be mobbed because the food is so darn fresh and good. You gotta have the peach/tomato/basil salad dressed with pepper infused oil. And then follow it up with their incredible hamburger. Divine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AnneShimsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Everything about Ruka’s Table was perfect! We stumble at the restaurant while looking for a place to eat, which should tell you that exterior has coughed our attention. Starting with the friendly, knowledgeable staff, very pleasant atmosphere, and finishing with the very happy belly! I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this restaurant. The food was superb, every dish outshine the other. I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Creative dishes, modern rustic decor”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The food here was excellent. I had grouper in a roasted tomato-saffron broth, and I had to scoop up every last drop with a spoon. Service was not outstanding, but adequate. Had a wickedly delicious dessert of chocolate ganache pie with salted carmel ice cream. OMG!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusanJ972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ruka's Rocks!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you are near Highlands, NC, Ruka's place is a must do! The chef created a vegetarian plate for me that was unique and delicious! My husband and I were particularly impressed with the roasted okra and the lady peas. Cheese plate appetizer and fresh basil gimlet topped off a fantastic dinner! Our server, Gregory helped to make our dining experience memorable!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing but the plates”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

There was nothing left on any of the plates that we all ordered and at the end of the meal we couldn't decide which one was the best cuz they were all absolutely amazing!!! The taste on the first bite was delicious and the second bite got better and than then eventually all of it was gone and all of our forks were scraping the plates. That is from the appetizers thru to the main course and to all the way thru to dessert my taste buds were alive! We are almost ready to cancel all our other reservations for our weekend in Highlands and dine here again, it is that good. Also the service and all the staff at the restaurant were attentive and interested in our dining experience. Justin, if you ever decide to leave and move to Charlotte they would be lucky to have you. Thanks for a great dinner and celebrating my husbands 60th birthday with all of us foodies, great evening to remember!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 208janice208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruka's Table also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing