We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is the BEST in the town of Highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruka's Table - CLOSED

Ruka's Table
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Street
Transit: Public Transportation is not available in Highlands. Private transportation is available through a "For Hire" service in the Highlands/Cashiers area. You may contact them by calling 828-526-8645 or emailing chasdash@rocketmail.com
Description: Ruka's Table embodies the spirit of Highlands with a casual but elegant atmosphere, excellent food and service, and a commitment to quality that we believe is unequaled. We buy as much local produce as possible to sustain our farming communities. Ruka's menu is an array of specials, salads, soups, appetizers, entrees, and desserts that are 100% house made from the finest quality ingredients that we can purchase. Our steaks are local, dry aged, hormone free meats of the highest grade. Our menu has a variety of seafood and poultry dishes and includes daily specials and our take on southern specialties. Ruka's features a beautiful, copper topped, full service bar that offers full menu dining and a huge assortment of craft beer, specialty cocktails, and a fantastic wine list. The bar is flanked by a large stone fireplace, and is situated under a 30 foot, beamed, cathedral ceiling.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is the BEST in the town of Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ruka's is the best food in town...Chef Justin takes seasonal items to a new level...you never know what he is going to have on the menu.....always a surprise.....His food is innovative....and perfection.....If you are planning a trip to Highlands....make sure you visit Ruka's.....on the main street....but not in the hustle bustle area,,, always great parking.......I can't say enough about this dining experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss this gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Food was impeccable and service so gracious. The pork belly appetizer perfectly glazed and tender paired so well with farro. The scallop appetizer was seared to perfection and paired with tasty grits. The cheese platter was so tasty and the presentation was awesome. Duck was seared and presented on bed of the most tastiest greens. Brasstown steak cooked to perfect medium rare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 65tlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A couple of friends and I had dinner there to give it a try for the very first time, and personally, I feel that this restaurant is to underrated to be true because of it's location. Situated a block away from the hustling downtown of Highlands, Ruka's is often overlooked because there are other restaurants that are located in the town itself. Despite the 5 minutes walking distance, the trip was well worth it. Since it was our very first visit, the waitress recommended the scallops and fried oysters as our starters, and the grouper, quail and ribeye for our entrees. You really have to order the salted caramel chocolate dessert. It's not the typical "sweet + sweet" dessert because of the caramel and chocolate. The caramel had a sort of bitter taste, but in a very good way to enhance the sweetness from the chocolate, thus it wasn't as sweet as I thought it'll be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Off the main restaurant row, but very good food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner of trout, and chocolate and salted caramel pie. Great place where you can eat and drink and not feel hurried or rushed. Most of the other restaurants in Highlands you do feel rushed. I think because of its location it is often overlooked, but it is definitely worth going.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maggie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious and creative meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had dinner at Ruka's Table on Saturday in Highlands, North Carolina. I had eaten at this restaurant over a year ago and thought I would give it another try.

I was able to make a reservation through "Open Table."

I think this restaurant is very good and innovative. The atmosphere was delightful with a huge and active fireplace. Plus, there were a couple of musicians playing guitar and saxophone.

Our meals were unique. I had a ribeye steak with mashed potatoes, braised kale and pickled okra. My companion had a wonderful chicken breast with Brussels Sprouts leaves. They also have an extensive wine list.

The menu changes every two weeks. Ruka's features locally produced meats, fish and produce from local area farms.

We will definitely eat at Ruka's again on our next visit to the Highlands.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaeger1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruka's Table also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing