We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the enchiladas!”
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #23 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try the enchiladas!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I'm a picky Mexican food eater. We're from the land of tex-mex, and can easily find delicious food within a mile of our home.
That being said, El Azteca was pretty good. We went twice during our trip to the mountains.
The fajitas were so-so, but the shrimp enchiladas were divine!
Not too drowned in cheese, and had excellent flavor.
I'm kind of a queso snob, so the "cheese dip" was a disappointment (I realize that this may be a NC thing, soupy nacho cheese served as a cheese dip).
Service was friendly. Overall, we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mama2leilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    30
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
“You have to try this place!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff; delicious food -- fresh! Local vegetables used as much as possible. No cans! Salsa is the BEST I have ever tasted (and I'm from Texas).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texanbyheart205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here several times while on our week long vacation in Highlands. The food was great and the drinks from the bar were also very good. We ate on the outdoor patio which was dog friendly! The service was excellent. Will definitely be back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jetman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican food in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Was on a group motorcycle ride when we found El Azteca in HIghlands on the way to the Bridal Veil Falls. Being from Texas, I was unsure of what we would find there but was very surprised. Fast service, good chip dip and excellent food. I had the chile rellenos and they were incredible, some of the best I've ever had. Others had chicken mole, mole enchiladas, cheese enchiladas and other dishes and every one of our large group had nothing but good things to say about the food. I would HIGHLY recommend this place, even if you have to drive a while to get there. A+

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A different kind of Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to this restaurant tonight. I found it to be very good. Ken was a very good server and was attentive to our need. I really like Mexican food and this restaurant rank very high on my list. Prices were reasonable and the food very good. I recommend the restaurant to all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing