We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #22 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We visited this restaraunt in Highlands, NC at the end of October 2011 ---- we were in Highlands to enjoy the leaves and the "shadow of the bear". The only reason I gave this restaraunt a 3 and not a 2 is because we had an outstanding waiter. The food and drinks were not very good at all... even the margaritas left something to be desired. There were 5 of us and we had a variety of food..... and none of us would be interested in visiting this restaraunt again. Sorry -- this was a less than desirable Mexican restaraunt.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoswellLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food! Not your "typical" Mexican fare, which is a good thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This restaurant is not your typical "americanized" Mexican food that you find everywhere these days. It is authentic Mexican food served in a GREAT atmosphere. The Margaritas are the best I've had! We go there weekly!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HighlandsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Try a frozen buritto instead!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

This place is the only Mexican restaurant in Highlands, but it has gone downhill since it opened. Been there a number of times but will not go back. When they first opened it seemed like they had a winning combination, but after a hiatus this spring the food and drinks are pitiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best Mexican food I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Great service, excellent food, nice atmosphere.
Thanks to all of you guys! You are awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kabaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I love going to El Azteca , wonderful margaritas (Strawberry is my favorite), friendly service and amazing fresh and authentic food. The fish tacos are fabulous.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikiriki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing