We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center serves up a palette of nature attractions including a botanical garden replete with 450 species of trees, ferns and flowers.
Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fresh Air”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

To walk through the botanical garden on it's cool, woodsy paths is a delight. Try to go in early July when all the native rhododendron are in bloom, everywhere. We learned several native plants because of the many plant markers. The trails are soft shredded bark, on mostly flat terrain, short and easy. The pond is outstanding with water lilies in bloom. We picnicked at the Biological Station in such a charming area, a table in front of the pavilion. It was so perfect that the setting was better than the food. Even though the day was warm, the botanical gardens were about 10 degrees cooler. You just seem to breathe better there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Criti-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Highlands Favorite”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Nature Center has been a special place to visit for our family for many years. Wonderful exhibits and meandering walk around the pond. They often have speakers in the evenings and day time activities for families. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Macja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for strolling and/or entertaining kids”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a hidden gem. The grounds provide an hour or so of strolling among flowers, natural settings, pond and creek. The nature center building has extensive exhibits of NC wildlife and brief descriptions. And it's donation based. You will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank woolythyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good little place to stop to become more informed about the area.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found the staff very informative and engaging during our time here.
informative is the key thing here. Information plus +.
Where else would you learn.....What to do if a bear decides you are his next dinner?
The poisonous snakes you should not pick up to cuddle!
Which spiders are aggressive?
This little place was packed with information and I would recommend it to all. Especially your kids if you are thinking about camping up in the mountains. There's so much information, you might just blow off the camping and check into the local Holiday Inn. LOL :)
Great little pathways with plants well marked. One that says, "poison ivy" , pay attention to this one especially.
We loved this little place. Be sure to take your kids here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent "hike" for the out of shape!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Meandering, well-marked trails with flora labeled leading to a small pond. We used this site to stretch our legs after our drive to Highlands before time to check in to the Colonial Pines Inn. It was cool under the trees, enlightening with all the labeled plants, maps and displays in the building and just a pleasant place to while away an hour or two.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyM-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Biological Station, Nature Center and Botanical Gardens also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Highlands Biological Station, Nature Center and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing