We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlands hot spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyprus

Cyprus
Reserve with OpenTable
Cyprus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Award Winning Chef Nicholas Figel introduces destination quality International Cuisine to Highlands, NC. In the Cyprus open kitchen, we take our inspiration from peasant foods and traditional cuisines from around the world. We hand harvest our vegetables and shop the ethnic markets to deliver authentic and traditional International flavors. We feature a unique regional menu, written and executed each day in the Cyprus kitchen, always by hand, and always using time honored, traditional cooking methods. The dining room is relaxing, inclusive, and a great place to enjoy great food and good times with friends. Cyprus International Cuisine, The most exciting dining destination in Highlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlands hot spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This new restaurant located right downtown Highlands. The cuisine was excellent. Different enters from around the world. We arrived without reservations, not recommended. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We were able to get a table right away, the main dining area was full and we sat outside under the covered bar area. Our server was knowledgeble and helpful as we had our 4 yr old daughter with us. We order the calamari appetizer being one of my favorites was cooked perfectly. The mango dipping sauce was tasty we also asked for a red sauce for my wife (I'm usually not a fan of red sauce) and they served us the red sauce that normally comes with the eggplant entree and I loved it. For our main course we ordered the pork porchetta. The stewed tomato was delicious as we're the greens. The pork was good but for my liking was a little over cooked but tasty. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    122
    47
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Parmesan eggplant - best appetizer! Such a fresh young fun place. Bartenders Jessie and Richard are so much fun. Try for a good time and a good meal!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisamgoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good, but not worth all the raves. Would give it a 2nd try.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went during Bahamian week and the food disappointed. Seafood chowder was too floury and tasteless. I had only one shrimp in my serving, while others had five or six. Not worth the price. I've heard so much positive I'd probably try again, but too expensive for mediocre food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit more hectic than the old location, but improving.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate dinner here two nights after the opening at the new location and then again this week. Being in right after the opening of the new location it was understandably chaotic with some staff not thoroughly trained and some construction still going on around the outdoor eating area.
This week was so different. We had dinner with friends and everything was much more organized.
The outdoor area is lovely, however we ate inside because it was very chilly.
The server we had was not one of the newer ones, and she was wonderful, Tatiana I believe. Severs seemed to be working together helping each other out as needed.
Food was very good, all four of us had the vermillion snapper special which was very good. I had the raw oysters and they were a nice size and very fresh tasting. Other appetizer specials were very tasty and creative from the Japanese menu.
It was a bit loud inside as the restaurant was completely filled, so be prepared that it may be hard to hear conversations if it was as filled with people as it was the night we were there.
Reservations are a must!! (Or be prepared to wait)
Still some chaos, but much better as the chefs and staff adjust to the new location.
Would like to see a hostess station that is clearer to spot. People come in from three directions and wonder where to go because it's not clear.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great international food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have eaten here two tears in a row on our family vacations. We live the international menu with foods from around the world. It exposes our children to cultural foods. More than all of that of course is that the foods are excellent! We had an amazing chicken dish with 8 different sauces to try different favors though the chicken alone was so delicious it needed nothing to be great! I had a shrimp appetizer with Asian influence and it was incredible as well. So many places to eat in highlands but if you want food that you just won't find anywhere , this is it! We will return year after year for a new and wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieP1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyprus also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing