We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Italian find”

Ristorante Paoletti
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Next Door to Highlands Inn, Across Street from Old Edwards Inn
Description: Celebrating 32-years serving high quality Italian Cuisine in Highlands, North Carolina in 2016. We serve the area's largest selection of fresh coastal Seafood & Local Rainbow Trout. Specialties including Daily made Ravioli, Prime Grass-fed Steaks, Chops and Rack of Lamb and Gluten-Free options throughout the menu, pasta included. -Our daily menu and printed Daily Specials reflect seasonal and locally grown ingredients. Full Dinner Menu available at the Bar, where the single diner always feels welcome. To complement your meal we offer one of the deepest wine cellars in the Southeast. Infused Spirits, Craft Cocktails & Three-dozen Sparkling, Red and White selections are offered by-the-glass, nightly. With the Wine Spectator's 'Best of Award of Excellence' since 1987, we offer a plethora of fabulous selections to suit all tastes and budgets but outside wine is not permitted. We are located next door to Highlands Inn and across the street from the Old Edwards Inn on Main Street in Highlands. Treat yourself and your family to one of Highland's Finest Dining Experiences. Visa, Mastercard, American Express accepted. Dinner Reservations are accepted up to 30-day in advance of your desired dining date. To better serve our Guests, phone reservations are accepted and strongly recommended. Online, fax, email or Opentable reservations are not available.
Asheville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We celebrated a birthday dinner there and the food and wine are excellent as is the service. It's difficult to find a truly upscale Italian restaurant and surprising to find such a one in the small mountain town of Highlands. A memorable experience. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawna70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    104
    55
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“try sitting at the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We eat here quite often and usually just sit at the bar. Otherwise you absolutely need a reservation and may still have to wait to get in. Get there early though, before 7 or even the bar is packed. Also, many of the entrees you may get as a half order, which is perfect to accompany a bottle of wine. For wine, always look at the specials at the front of the wine list or ask Julio for a recommendation in your price range, He can find something that is good and pretty reasonable as a rule.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank djdyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highlands Italian Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lingering over a glass of bubbly and a dish of creme brulee, I reflect on yet another evening of delicious food and impeccable service at one of our all-time favorite places to spend the dinner hour (or two). Julio is a master and the kitchen produces wonders such as escargot (yummy!), carpaccio and a wicked cannelloni. The extensive wine list covers a range that assures a great bottle no matter what your preference. It's rare, outside of Italy, to find this combination of service, food and atmosphere that makes an evening memorable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant--Excellent Food and Wine List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had dinner April 4, 2014 and it could not have been better. The mahi was terrific and they accommodated my wife's garlic allergy with care. Our waiter, Eric, was an old pro and very nice. Julio, the maitre d,' was friendly and attentive. Great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdhopki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Still at the top of the heap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have been going to Paoletti's since 1987. It was then and continues to be outstanding. I love Italian restaurants and this one is a favorite of ours. You will not be disappointed. Reminds me of a great NYC restaurants except it is in a wonderful little mountain town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Paoletti also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ristorante Paoletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing