We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, mediocre service”

Ristorante Paoletti
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Next Door to Highlands Inn, Across Street from Old Edwards Inn
Description: Celebrating 33-years serving high quality Italian Cuisine in Highlands, North Carolina in 2017. We serve the area's largest selection of fresh coastal Seafood & Local Rainbow Trout. Specialties including Daily made Ravioli, Prime Grass-fed Steaks, Chops and Rack of Lamb and Gluten-Free options throughout the menu, pasta included. -Our daily menu and printed Daily Specials reflect seasonal and locally grown ingredients. Full Dinner Menu available at the Bar, where the single diner always feels welcome. To complement your meal we offer one of the deepest wine cellars in the Southeast. Infused Spirits, Craft Cocktails & Three-dozen Sparkling, Red and White selections are offered by-the-glass, nightly. With the Wine Spectator's 'Best of Award of Excellence' since 1987, we offer a plethora of fabulous selections to suit all tastes and budgets but outside wine is not permitted. We are located next door to Highlands Inn and across the street from the Old Edwards Inn on Main Street in Highlands. Treat yourself and your family to one of Highland's Finest Dining Experiences. Visa, Mastercard, American Express accepted. Dinner Reservations are accepted up to 30-day in advance of your desired dining date. To better serve our Guests, phone reservations are accepted and strongly recommended. Online, fax, email or Opentable reservations are not available.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, mediocre service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We ate dinner at Paoletti based on the outstanding reviews. The food was good but the service was less than desirable. Our server was extremely harried and had more tables than she could handle on this busy night. Given that we had reservations, I would've expected the restaurant to have the staff they needed for that night.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SweetPea7149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    110
    56
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had very high expectations, and were a little let down. Food was just good... Not great.
We visited several other places in Highlands that were better.

Helpful?
Thank rolltide7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Highlands!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Paoletti's is our favorite restaurant in Highlands! They always have fresh fish, great pastas, delicious desserts, and wonderful service! It gets crowded and busy as it's so popular, but is always worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MLA246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good Italian restaurant”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very popular place in Highlands, frequented by locals and visitors. The wine selection was excellent with some very good reasonable priced wines, especially if you want Italian rather than California. We both had the soup special and were disappointed in the lack of crab and shrimp in the bisque special. Our entrees were both excellent as the quality was good, the quantities were reasonable and included nice side items. The desserts were equally good. The service was very attentive and timely.
The overall experience was very good, with the appetizers being the only deduction from a five star rating we would otherwise have provided. We will definitely go again on a future visit to the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richfromreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I don't understand all the good reviews. The service was terrible, but I understand they were down a waiter that night, so I can forgive that. The food, however, was awful. The artichoke and crab appetizer was deep-fried to a crisp, boring and uninspired. Next, I ordered an eggplant salad over arugula (per the menu). i was served a deep-fried (again) pie of cheese with some tomato sauce in it. I could not identify any eggplant. Perhaps more unforgivable was the fact that is was served on a plate with a few wisps of romaine and mesclun. Definitely not a "salad" and definitely not any arugula in sight. My mushroom pasta was equally disappointing. It is hard to mess up mushroom pasta. Mushrooms combine well with wine, cream, garlic, anything. Instead, I was served boiled pasta with musrooms that had been sauteed in olive oil and apparently nothing else. The wine list was amazing, as was the atmosphere, which only served to heighten both my expectations and disappointment. I ended up getting take out from the local pub to fill up. Will not be returning. I have been to many excellent italian places in Atlanta, and this one just does not measure up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rebetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Paoletti also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ristorante Paoletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing