We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of The Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chandler Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Chandler for a wedding in late June. Highlands is a spectacular area and we could not have been more pleased with the quaint and convenient Chandler Inn. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The owners and staff are friendly and extremely helpful for 1st time visitors to the area. Breakfasts are delicious! Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I found this place on-line while searching for a nice spot where my wife and I could observe our 56th wedding anniversary. Owner Randy up-graded us to a suite close to the parking area to make it more accessible for my wife, a cancer patient. Complete with kitchen, sitting room with remote gas fireplace and TV, king bed with luxurious Sealy Ultra Plush mattress, and well-appointed shower and dressing area--all convenient to downtown restaurants, shops, galleries, and the playhouse, where we got into opening night of "Buddy: The Buddy Holly Story." And the sumptuous breakfasts served by Leta--baked souffles and French toast--were superb. Private entrance to each facility. All of it at a very reasonable rate. Going to Highlands? Make it The Chandler Inn. No regrets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This rather European establishment is nestled in an amazing rain forest replete with luxurious flowery plants. There are several areas where one can simply sit outside in the shade and read a book or have a quiet conversation with another guest or companion. Each room seems to belong to a separate establishment. Great modern flat screen TV does not detract from the affluent bedding and big fluffy bath towels. The entire room was immaculate; the bed really comfy.
WE also appreciated suggestions about restaurants as we were new to the area. Both restaurants the owners recommended were high quality!! Also, they actually arranged for us to go to one restaurant when it had a cancellation(unusual event in the town).
Breakfast is so special here. Individual quiches, baked sweet toasts and cereals, good coffee with plenty of cream all contribute to a hotel which really cares what the patrons need.
Dick and Jane

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick and Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the third time we have been at the Chandler Inn in Highlands. As always it was outstanding from signing in to signing out. Breakfast was great and room was clean, comfortable and very private. The host provides information of the area and treats everyone as thier personal friend and house quest! Thanks for a great week end "Up there!"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahigle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I spent a very quiet early spring weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed it, rain and all. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Even though we were the only ones there they made sure we had an enjoyable experience, and a great breakfast spread. We will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent, personable service. Delicious breakfast (even breakfast in bed!!). Terrific location for Highlands or Cashiers. Clean, cozy rooms. Felt right at home--like visiting family in the mountains. Thanks for the Valentina!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Randy and Lety are awesome innkeepers.We went to Highlands for a long weekend and were delighed to spend the weekend in a beautiful king room with gas fireplace,rainhead showers and a bed that had the same mattress that is used by the Ritz Carlton Hotels.The gourmet breakfast prepared by Lety was savored at the community table while enjoying the wonderful company of couples from Cornelia,Easley and Decatur.On top of all this was a beautiful two inches of snowfall.We will definitely return soon to spend another weekend with Randy and Lety.
Edwin and Virginia

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansford777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.6 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#5 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Property: The Chandler Inn
Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chandler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing