We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away”
Review of The Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chandler Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Get Away”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Charming, relaxing and the owners are very nice and accomodating. This inn offers great value. We have stayed there twice and will return. Breakfast is excellent and we like the location. I find it to me quiet and relaxing with a rustic feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This little Inn is the most bang for your buck in Highlands. With other hotels in the area going for up to 500 a night, this inn is a great value. Also they cook homemade goodies for breakfast. We enjoyed baked omlets and blueberry french toast for breakfast.The Inn is a little dated and rustic,but very clean. The owners are very nice and helpful. When we return to the Highlands,we will stay here again. Tip Drive down to The Dillard House about 20 minutes away for a great meal at half the cost of Highland restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Staying at The Chandler Inn gave me a new gauge for measuring my enjoyment at places to stay and that is the quality of the people it attracts... Not only were the accommodations charming, the breakfast delicious and the surroundings serene, the other guests were friendly, relaxed, good conversationalists, and interesting. The owners, Randy and Letty have a great way about them; therefore, it just creates a very pleasant atmosphere. Attention to detail without pretentiousness is a good way to describe the feeling at The Chandler Inn. A great area and a great place to stay if you need to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just spent this past weekend at the Chandler Inn in Highlands, NC. We've been visiting Highlands for over 30 years; but this was our first stay at the Chandler Inn. You can spend a lot (a LOT) more money for accommodations in Highlands; but if you are like us (out early for hiking, exploring, shopping, etc.), why would you? Letty was a super hostess, and had breakfast with us each morning (she baked the blueberry casserole and egg casserole fresh for us, and they were delicious). The room was very nice and super clean, and so quiet at night. Again, if you are just dead set on spending 5-times more for a room at the Old Edwards; so be it. But we took the savings and had great dinners at Lakeside and Wild Thyme, and had plenty left over for the wine and gas!!! Thanks Letty....We hope to return this winter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I just got home from celebrating our First Wedding Anniversary. We absolutely loved The Chandler Inn in HIghlands, NC. TCI is more of a country inn with a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed chatting over breakfast each morning with the inn keeper, Letty, who offered us suggestions of what the town had to offer: nearby waterfalls (beautiful), shopping in town (fun), and dinning (very good). Randy suggested we go to the auction in town at Scudder's, we enjoyed it lots! The room we stayed in was the deluxe king (#108). We enjoyed the small living room and kitchen area, along with the comfortable king bed and nice bathroom with dressing area. The fire place was a nice nightly enjoyment for us. Very "cozy" experience for us on our First Wedding Anniversary and definitely set the bar high for many to follow. Each room has private entrance, ours had a porch swing that was a sweet delight!

Room Tip: The inn keeper was very helpful to us when we chos a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAF91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I spent our 48th Wedding Anniversary at The Chandler Inn. Randy and Letty, Inn owners, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the occasion memorable. It rained a lot while we were there but that was not a problem. We enjoyed swinging on the porch and listening to the rain on the metal roof. It also gave us time to spend time inside with a good book with the fireplace going. The breakfasts were really special and the owners joined to discuss our plans for the day and offered helpful suggestions about activities in Highland. Overall a great experience. We are already making plans to return next year for our 49th.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 and it was just right for us.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don_and_Carolyn37312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Inn was a very wonderful experience. The room was clean and private. We enjoyed using one of the swings in the internal courtyard. Located close to town, we left the car at the inn and walked to dinner, shipping, etc. But a significant part of the experience was Letty, one of the owners. She is a wonderful person, and took every opportunity to chat with us and make us feel at home. She cooks a fantastic breakfast each morning, and we enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. The Powers have been running this facility for 26 years, and have certainly found the right formula.

Room Tip: They all were good. Some have their own balcony with rocking chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.6 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#5 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Property: The Chandler Inn
Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chandler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing