We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
84
29
8
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
29
8
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked french toast other guests within walking distance to town grandmother's house each morning next morning highlands nc plenty of hot water deluxe king my husband and i bed was comfortable breakfast room flat screen main street fresh fruit long weekend randy
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 127 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I just got home from celebrating our First Wedding Anniversary. We absolutely loved The Chandler Inn in HIghlands, NC. TCI is more of a country inn with a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed chatting over breakfast each morning with the inn keeper, Letty, who offered us suggestions of what the town had to offer: nearby waterfalls (beautiful), shopping in town (fun), and dinning (very good). Randy suggested we go to the auction in town at Scudder's, we enjoyed it lots! The room we stayed in was the deluxe king (#108). We enjoyed the small living room and kitchen area, along with the comfortable king bed and nice bathroom with dressing area. The fire place was a nice nightly enjoyment for us. Very "cozy" experience for us on our First Wedding Anniversary and definitely set the bar high for many to follow. Each room has private entrance, ours had a porch swing that was a sweet delight!

Room Tip: The inn keeper was very helpful to us when we chos a room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAF91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I spent our 48th Wedding Anniversary at The Chandler Inn. Randy and Letty, Inn owners, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the occasion memorable. It rained a lot while we were there but that was not a problem. We enjoyed swinging on the porch and listening to the rain on the metal roof. It also gave us time to spend time inside with a good book with the fireplace going. The breakfasts were really special and the owners joined to discuss our plans for the day and offered helpful suggestions about activities in Highland. Overall a great experience. We are already making plans to return next year for our 49th.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 and it was just right for us.
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Don_and_Carolyn37312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Inn was a very wonderful experience. The room was clean and private. We enjoyed using one of the swings in the internal courtyard. Located close to town, we left the car at the inn and walked to dinner, shipping, etc. But a significant part of the experience was Letty, one of the owners. She is a wonderful person, and took every opportunity to chat with us and make us feel at home. She cooks a fantastic breakfast each morning, and we enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. The Powers have been running this facility for 26 years, and have certainly found the right formula.

Room Tip: They all were good. Some have their own balcony with rocking chairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This little B&B Inn offers the privacy of individual rooms and the friendliness of a shared breakfast area. This was not our first trip there and the rooms have always been neat, clean and charming. The eating area for breakfast is delightful, especially since the morning air in Highlands is usually crisp and much cooler than the lower elevations from nearby towns. The inn's proximity to the main street of the town allows you to walk to shopping, restaurants, etc., yet it is not in the hustle and bustle of the main traffic of the town.

If you want a great getaway, go to Highlands. If you want to stay in a quiet, quaint inn while you are there, stay at the Chandler.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Celebrated my birthday in this friendly B&B. 4/10 of a mile walk to town to enjoy great restaurants, shopping and playhouse. Yummy breakfast souffles served in the morning. The deluxe suite was quite spacious with a kitchenette with refrigerator, and a living room area that can seat a few guests to have a glass of wine with before dinner. All the rooms have their own entrance and porches, which is nice. We always enjoy our meals at Lakeside and Wild Thyme. Owners are friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had a skylight in the vaulted ceiling above the bed. (In case you are sensitive to the morning light.)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladolcevitaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews