We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For A Highlands Getaway”
Review of The Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chandler Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place For A Highlands Getaway”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just spent this past weekend at the Chandler Inn in Highlands, NC. We've been visiting Highlands for over 30 years; but this was our first stay at the Chandler Inn. You can spend a lot (a LOT) more money for accommodations in Highlands; but if you are like us (out early for hiking, exploring, shopping, etc.), why would you? Letty was a super hostess, and had breakfast with us each morning (she baked the blueberry casserole and egg casserole fresh for us, and they were delicious). The room was very nice and super clean, and so quiet at night. Again, if you are just dead set on spending 5-times more for a room at the Old Edwards; so be it. But we took the savings and had great dinners at Lakeside and Wild Thyme, and had plenty left over for the wine and gas!!! Thanks Letty....We hope to return this winter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I just got home from celebrating our First Wedding Anniversary. We absolutely loved The Chandler Inn in HIghlands, NC. TCI is more of a country inn with a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed chatting over breakfast each morning with the inn keeper, Letty, who offered us suggestions of what the town had to offer: nearby waterfalls (beautiful), shopping in town (fun), and dinning (very good). Randy suggested we go to the auction in town at Scudder's, we enjoyed it lots! The room we stayed in was the deluxe king (#108). We enjoyed the small living room and kitchen area, along with the comfortable king bed and nice bathroom with dressing area. The fire place was a nice nightly enjoyment for us. Very "cozy" experience for us on our First Wedding Anniversary and definitely set the bar high for many to follow. Each room has private entrance, ours had a porch swing that was a sweet delight!

Room Tip: The inn keeper was very helpful to us when we chos a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAF91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I spent our 48th Wedding Anniversary at The Chandler Inn. Randy and Letty, Inn owners, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the occasion memorable. It rained a lot while we were there but that was not a problem. We enjoyed swinging on the porch and listening to the rain on the metal roof. It also gave us time to spend time inside with a good book with the fireplace going. The breakfasts were really special and the owners joined to discuss our plans for the day and offered helpful suggestions about activities in Highland. Overall a great experience. We are already making plans to return next year for our 49th.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 and it was just right for us.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don_and_Carolyn37312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Inn was a very wonderful experience. The room was clean and private. We enjoyed using one of the swings in the internal courtyard. Located close to town, we left the car at the inn and walked to dinner, shipping, etc. But a significant part of the experience was Letty, one of the owners. She is a wonderful person, and took every opportunity to chat with us and make us feel at home. She cooks a fantastic breakfast each morning, and we enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. The Powers have been running this facility for 26 years, and have certainly found the right formula.

Room Tip: They all were good. Some have their own balcony with rocking chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This little B&B Inn offers the privacy of individual rooms and the friendliness of a shared breakfast area. This was not our first trip there and the rooms have always been neat, clean and charming. The eating area for breakfast is delightful, especially since the morning air in Highlands is usually crisp and much cooler than the lower elevations from nearby towns. The inn's proximity to the main street of the town allows you to walk to shopping, restaurants, etc., yet it is not in the hustle and bustle of the main traffic of the town.

If you want a great getaway, go to Highlands. If you want to stay in a quiet, quaint inn while you are there, stay at the Chandler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Celebrated my birthday in this friendly B&B. 4/10 of a mile walk to town to enjoy great restaurants, shopping and playhouse. Yummy breakfast souffles served in the morning. The deluxe suite was quite spacious with a kitchenette with refrigerator, and a living room area that can seat a few guests to have a glass of wine with before dinner. All the rooms have their own entrance and porches, which is nice. We always enjoy our meals at Lakeside and Wild Thyme. Owners are friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had a skylight in the vaulted ceiling above the bed. (In case you are sensitive to the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladolcevitaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is our 4th time to stay at the Chandler Inn in Highlands, NC. There just isn't another place that we would rather stay. Randy and Ledy are so sweet and accomodating. The rooms are very cozy, with clean beds and baths and the price to right. Breakfast each morning was delicious and hearty. My favorite of blueberry french toast was offered the first morning along with an egg casserole. The next day was baked oatmeal. So we set out for our golf outing each day full and satisfied.

Now, on to the golf. We only play municipal courses and here is the rundown of our 4 days of golf.
First on the agenda was Kingwood Country Club in Clayton GA. The course was in great shape with lots of hills and elevated greens and tee boxes. It is set in a quiet community of condos and townhomes. We really enjoyed it.
The next day took us to Sky Valley Resort. Now, we had played this course and loved it, but were under the impression (from their website) that it was closed. Well, stopped by to check and found that it was very much open for business. So glad we did, because this is one of our favorite courses. The course has been purchased by the homeowners and it is in really great shape. With charming features like an old fireplace in the middle of the fairway to waterfalls, this place is a great destination. It was not one of the cheapest that we played, but worth the fee.
Third day was Sapphire Valley Golf Club. We had never played here, but what a wonderful hidden gem. This was a very tough course, but so beautiful that you didn't mind getting beaten up by such long and challenging holes. One minor drawback was that there is no practice tee or practice putting green. But the course made up for it. Attached to the proshop is a microbrewery. After a long day on the links we were looking forward to a cold one and some munchies. Well, it took FOREVER to get our drinks and food. So beware if you are in a hurry, because they are not.
Just a quick note about food. We ate at On The Veranda the first night. Due to an electrical storm, electricity was out all over Highlands. However, the restaurant cooked and served by candlelight and it was just so charming. It is on the water and the service and food were excellent. Ristorante Paolleti's was very good as well, but a bit overpriced for spaghetti. The service was excellent which helped. The last night was Wolfgangs. The food was really good, but they sat us in the back of the restaurant which had no atmosphere at all. If you go there, request to be seated in the Pub area or the porch.
And last but not least was the auction at Scudders Antiques. This is a must visit when you are in Highlands. Mr. Scudder is just a hoot and kept us entertained for several hours. And you just might get a bargain on rugs or jewelry while you are there. Can't wait to visit again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.6 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#5 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Property: The Chandler Inn
Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chandler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing