We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right spot!”
Review of The Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chandler Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just the right spot!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Chandler Inn 12/15/11 - 12/18/11. We love the off season in Highlands! Randy and Letty are terrific innkeepers. Our room was clean, cozy, with a seating area and reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious and different each morning. The inn is quaint with gas log fireplaces, great showers/good water pressure, nice flat TVs and swings or chairs located outside each room. All rooms have their own outside entrance giving guests a bit of privacy. In nice weather, it's an easy walk to Main St. for dining and shopping. We also enjoy the multitude of hiking trails and waterfalls.We will definitely go back and we recommend the Chandler Inn B&B!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The owners were very friendly and fun. The setting was smartly done and the accomodations were wonerfully comfortable. Everything was there and up to date. The breakfast was absolutely scrumptious. We felt the price was very resasonable, same as a boring hotel with less class, style and accomodations. The location was close to town but off the main street to afford quiet and relaxation. I will always return and always recommend!

Room Tip: we looked at three rooms and they all had their charm and needs. we stayed in 101 with a couch, king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Enjoying the experience is what I look for in our yearly Fall Foliage Tour. Steve and I have just spent two nights at the charming North Carolina Bed & Breakfast, this was our fifth visit there. We enjoy relaxation, uncomplicated experiences, & great locations. The Chandler Inn is located within walking distance of Highland's shopping and art district. The Inn itself has it's unique decor and every room is different, clean and comfortable, some have a swing on the porch or rockers, most have iron or a brass bed. All have good showers and televisions. The delight is always Letty's breakfast, baked french toast & egg soufflé.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just arrived home after a great weekend in the North Carolina Mountains. On Saturday we spent the afternoon in beautiful Highlands North Carolina. On Saturday night we stayed at the Chandler Inn, a B&B style hotel in Highlands NC. The hotel room was spacious with a kink size bed, Couch, refrigerator, fireplace and modern bathroom. The sheets on the bed were of a high thread count which was very nice and comfortable. We also had a nice hanging swing right outside our door on the porch. Breakfast which is included was amazing with fresh fruit, an egg soufflé, and a blueberry bread pudding which was to die for. The best part of the Inn was the couple who runs the property. They were lovely and truly enjoyed what they were doing. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCBLUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama, USA
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Our stay here was absolutely wonderful. All rooms had fireplace, TV, privacy, swings and
rockers on all porches. Breakfast was delicious every morning. The owners were so accommodating and we never lacked for anything. We were excited to see some black bears in the back yard occationally. Chandler Inn is rustic, country and so peaceful and quiet. We will diffinently go back. It has to be the best place to stay in Highlands. The weather was perfect, no heat, just cool and breezy. All the rooms have private entrance. Our room was on the back of the Inn and had a very long porce. We were able to pull our vehicle almost up the door. You won't regret it if you stay here. I want the same room when we go back. Rick and Chris Hendrix, Alabaster, AL

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just came back from a short stay at The Chandler Inn. Unfortunately, the only good thing about our stay was the lovely Innkeeper who was very accommodating and friendly. When we drove up to the property, it is very quaint on the outside with lots of greenary and flowers with a rustic feel. However, the rooms are seriously outdated with very old furniture, walls, fixtures, bathrooms, etc. There was nothing nice about it except for the new flat screen TV that was in it. Admittedly, I am a bit of a clean freak. However, I immediately found 3 hairs on top of the comforter, inside the bathroom sink and on the bathroom floor. Completely unacceptable. The sheets on the bed were so worn, I would have tossed them out years ago if they were my own. The room just felt dirty. We were hoping, at least, to have an enjoyable breakfast the next morning. Boy, were we mistaken! As soon as we walked into the breakfast room, the Innkeeper (not the lovely woman, but I suppose he is the owner) immediately commented to us that we looked lost or something to that effect. Well, Mister, maybe that's because there was no food out except one kind of cereal and some English muffins. No instruction on what to do, where to go, where the "real" food was. It was finally explained to us that we were to grab what we wanted, get "situated" (which BTW there is very limited seating) and there were casseroles in the oven for us. What I couldn't get over the most was that everything was served on PAPER plates and cups and PLASTIC silverware! Wow. Really?? Do these people understand what a B&B is all about? I was absolutely floored. Throughout our meal, Mister Inkeeper was basically yelling out at the guests to make "conversation", but all he was really being was obnoxoius! All the while, the lady Inkeeper was slaving away, cooking and cleaning, running all over the place to make sure everyone had what the needed. And Mister Inkeeper just sat on his behind watching and not lifting a finger (oh and ordering her around, too). All in all, I would not stay at The Chandler Inn again. Certainly not worth the almost $200/night and just plain disappointing all around. We couldn't wait to get out of the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolesgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We just had a wonderful 2 nights at the Chandler Inn in Highlands, NC. The room was more than adequate and comfy, with lots of fluffy pillows and comforters. Wish it had been cold enough to use the fire place. Breakfast was great, service excellent. Would definitely stay here again. There are many pricey B&B's in Highlands, but you don't need to pay a lot for a great room. The only complaint (which is very minor) is that the bathroom doesn't have a lot of room for toiletries, etc. However, the shower was nice and clean and roomy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.6 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Property: The Chandler Inn
Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chandler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing