We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years of relaxing stays”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2006

We've been staying here for 20 years and it only gets better! Peaceful, great food, walk to town, and just relax! Chris and Donna couldn't be better hosts!

2  Thank randr-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 140 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2006

'Perfect Vacation Site'
Our yearly visit to Colonial Pines Inn in Highlands NC is our favorite vacation time. The inn is beautifully decorated with lovely antiques, and the guest rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is even a baby grand piano for guests to enjoy. The wide porch with old fashioned rocking chairs is the perfect place to relax and observe the magnificent mountains in the distance. The genuine and warm hospitality of inn keepers Donna and Chris Alley makes the inn a very special place.The breakfasts Donna serves are superb and visiting with other guests while feasting on her delicious food is always a favorite part of our day.Donna and Chris make their guests feel very welcome and both are always available to provide information about Highlands and the surrounding area
Colonial Pines Inn is our "home away from home". We are never ready to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank retten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

My husband and I have been long time attendes in the Highlands. We came across this wonderful Bed and Breakfast call the Colonial Pines Inn. Chris and Donna are personalable and friendly, helpful with getting around the area, and can give knowledgable information on where to eat for your palett's desire. Their Inn is very clean, and the breakfast are delicious as well as plentiful. The charm of their Inn is warm with the fellings of home. They have a good library of books if you forgot your personal book, and the surroundings welcome you to the front porch, or to curl up in the sofa. A delightfully charming place to stay for the hotel weary traveler.

1  Thank RLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Over the past several years we've stayed at Colonial Pines a number of times. The warmth of the Inn keepers,the location, the delicious breakfasts, the cleanliness and the spacious rooms have kept us going back.The Inn keepers are knowledgeable about the area and readily share their information. Parking is easy and safe. There is always reading material available as well as snacks for guests to enjoy. We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We began staying at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast when we first started coming to the Highlands area in 1992. Not only is it a charmingly decorated inn, but Innkeepers Donna and Chris Alley have thought of every touch to make quests feel so welcome! Donna's breakfast is simply the best we have ever had, and cookies and peach tea after a hike or sightseeing really hit the spot. Over the years, we have stayed in every room at the Inn as well as Miss Rebecca's Cottage when we had extra family or friends with us. We enjoyed the cozy fireplace there - and Donna even had a delightfully decorated Christmas tree for us to enjoy in December. There are so many thoughtful touches throughout the inn and cottage - and we especially enjoyed figuring out the new ones that Donna had added since our last visit. Another favorite part of any stay at Colonial Pines is the company you enjoy at breakfast - we never failed to find something in common with the other guests that made for great morning conversation! Donna and Chris also gave us the best advice about where to go and what to do - even offering their own canoe for our use. We have our own home in Highlands now, but guess where we end up when our house gets a little crowded with family? That's right - Colonial Pines Inn Bed & Breakfast . It is still our "home away from home"!
Susan and Hoyt Andres

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
25
Reviewed June 2, 2005

My husband and I have stayed at Colonial Pines many times. We always feel very at home during our stay. Innkeepers, Chris and Donna, are extremely helpful, welcoming, and accomodating. Donna's breakfast is always superb, great coffee, great mountain view, charming birds just outside the window. Knotty pine walls line the rooms which are very clean and comfortable. We love this small, cozy inn and will be returning many more times. A great VALUE!

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#7 of 7 in Highlands
176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 541 Hickory St, Highlands, NC 28741-8498
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: $110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a two-acre in-town hillside, Colonial Pines is one half mile from Main Street and has been welcoming guests since 1961 to the mellow warmth of knotty pine and English antiques. A view of Satulah Mountain will soothe your spirit and you can choose a room, suite, or even a separate cottage with fireplace. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts, unlimited afternoon and evening refreshments, berry gardens,wrap-around two-story verandah, in-town convenience, out-of-town beauty, year-round warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing