We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B just steps from downtown Highlands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B just steps from downtown Highlands”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Colonial Pines is a delightful, clean and comfortable B&B. The rooms are all different but each is charming. The innkeepers, Chris and Donna, have owned the property for thirty years and are wonderful to get to know. The breakfast is a delicious experience each morning. The inn sits on a hill just moments from downtown Highlands.

Room Tip: The "Audubon" and "Harris" rooms are my favorites. For a suite with two rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler6Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the two bedroom guest house over the summer while we were visiting for a wedding. The guest house was more than we could have expected. It was very close to downtown, very clean, and very comfortable. The guest house would be good for a family of four or two couples. Donna and Chris were delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retterbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I have been traveling to Highlands at least once a year for the past 25 years, and our experience in staying at several lodging selections has made us loyal and happy customers of the Colonial Pines. We've stayed in the main inn for many years, but for the past six of seven years, we have rented Miss Rebecca's Cottage for a week at a time instead of rooming at the main inn. What a delightful experience Rebecca's cottage has been--three bedrooms, kitchen and dining area, quiet location, clean, scenic area, WiFi connection for those folks who decide to keep in touch or work, only about 1/2 mile walk to down-town, and suitable for more than two people; It is also important to mention prompt response from the inn keepers, Donna and Chris, anytime we've had questions or required minor problems to be addressed. Donna and Chris are the quintessential hosts for the B&B travelers, and have for the past many years kept the inn and cottage in immaculate condition, and treated us as valued guests every trip we have made to Highlands. Oh, I should also mentioned if staying at the main inn, travelers will experience what I consider the most delicious of any breakfasts one can find at any B&Bs in the Highland area.

Room Tip: Suggest staying at Miss Rebecca's cottage if your stay in Highlands will be for a week or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelman049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Yes, another wonderful visit to Highlands , NC and two nights stay at Colonial Pines B & B.
As always we leave with such fun memories shared with Donna and Chris the owners. They make everything perfect for a short get away.
I will have to say that Donna is a fabulous cook (The Best Full Breakfast ) fit for a king.
It was and always is the best.
Thanks for sharing your home with us and we wish you many blessings in 2014. See you soon and thanks.

Yarbrough's

Room Tip: The best ever beds and linens. The entire rooms and setting is so "comfy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RN Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Second year in a row - we just love it here. Good value, location is close to town and spotless rooms. Well cared for inn by wonderful hosts. Enjoyed the porch swing this time around. Lovely view and quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headed4theBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Donna and Chris Alley are very gracious and experienced inn keepers and go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. We were there for a 3 day weekend in September. They provide wonderful breakfasts and went out of their way to purchase and cook us healthy alternatives. The rooms are very comfortable and have lovely pine walls and spacious open closets and nice private views. There is a wonderful wraparound porch, with rockers and swings and hummingbird feeders where one can enjoy a cup of tea or the wonderful baked snacks put out in the afternoon. Donna and Chris gave us much good advice about things to do in the area and where to eat. We had made previous reservations to eat at the Madison because it was so top rated. We had a very dissapointing dinner there; fish overdone and dinner tasteless except for salt and had much better dinners following their advice about where to eat. We very much look forward to coming back there again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louyarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

In the past we have stayed at the 4 1/2 Street Inn when vacationing in Highlands. This visit, since that inn was full we stayed across the street at the Colonial Pines. This B and B has been in continuous operation in Highlands for over 30 years and was just a delightful place to stay. We like 4 1/2 Street a lot--quiet, yet only a short walk to town. The Colonial Pines is a stately two story residence with rooms on both floors as well as a separate two story guest cottage with two additional suites (the upper with 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette. Our room was on the second floor of the main house, was quiet, with a walk-in closet, nice bath, and pine paneling somewhat reminiscent of yesteryear. We found the room charming, and actually more reasonably priced than the inn across the street. The grounds at the Colonial Pines are beautiful, well manicured and very relaxing. There are tables and swings on the huge covered verandas where we ate two delightful meals with food that we had brought with us in our cooler. When we arrived there was Sherry in a nice decanter and some freshly baked treats from our hostess, Donna, who is an excellent cook! Her breakfasts were delicious and healthy as well. Her husband Christopher was also pleasant and both provided us with whatever information we required regarding the local attractions, restaurants, etc. Each day we were there, Donna put out new delights for us in the afternoon, and we looked forward to another of her delicious breakfasts. We highly recommend this inn! It is clean, attractive, reasonably priced and very convenient to the downtown Highlands area.

Room Tip: All rooms are somewhat similar. You can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvecBrisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 541 Hickory St, Highlands, NC 28741-8498
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a two-acre in-town hillside, Colonial Pines is one half mile from Main Street and has been welcoming guests since 1961 to the mellow warmth of knotty pine and English antiques. A view of Satulah Mountain will soothe your spirit and you can choose a room, suite, or even a separate cottage with fireplace. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts, unlimited afternoon and evening refreshments, berry gardens,wrap-around two-story verandah, in-town convenience, out-of-town beauty, year-round warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing