We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Restaurant

Lakeside Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lakeside was great again. The mushroom and blue cheese on flatbread appetizer is so good, I could order 2 or 3 and make it dinner. The triggerfish was cooked to perfection with a great melding of favors. I'm somewhat surprised that the new owners have been able to transition without any disasters. You wouldn't know that Marty is no longer on the kitchen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank GMurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    40
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“As good as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate with 7 friends this weekend at Lakeside. We had a great meal as usual. I had a vegetarian plate with fettuccine, lots of seasonal vegetables and a light curry sauce. It was wonderful. My wife had the halibut special which was also outstanding.

Marty has sold the restaurant and retired, but Laura (his longtime manager) has retained all the staff and everything was exactly as it has always been. Great food. Great service and a wonderful view of Harris Lake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank hoytandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Charming little restaurant with great food and attentive staff. Within walking distance from Old Edwards Inn. Excellent dining experience. Would definitely fine there again and recommend to friend.

Helpful?
9 Thank Sugunya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint setting focusing on the customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Chose this restaurant based on the recommendations of the inn keepers where we were staying and several other guests at the Inn as well. Set on a small lake with ducks, hummingbirds to enjoy while u enjoy your dinner. 2 in our party had steak , myself being one and I like my steak prepared well do e and mine was to perfection. The other guest had salad and tomato flourentine. Stated it was absolutely delicious. The waitress we had was very attentive and made sure we were satisfied with our dining experience. Don't miss it if you visit highlands. It's definitely worth repeat visits

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Clemson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I recently visited Highlands with my mother and we dined at Lakeside Restaurant. It was one of the best meals we have had. Fresh, perfectly seasoned seafood and a great wine selection. The dining room was charming, and the service was unbeatable. Very attentive and knowledgable staff. We started with the Unwedged salad which was very good. For entrees, my mother had the Triggerfish which she is still raving about, and I had the daily special which was a Striped Bass dish seasoned to perfection. If we are ever back in Highlands we will be sure to stop in at Lakeside again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank 321Reba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing