We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just a Tavern”
Review of Sammy G's Tavern

Sammy G's Tavern
Ranked #3 of 280 Restaurants in High Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Just a Tavern”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The name "Sammy G's Tavern" is misleading since this is not just a tavern-- it is a very fine restaurant with an upscale menu-- great variety, presentation, and excellent prices. Best of all, the wait staff is out of this world! Taylor was our server on our most recent visit (Mother's Day week-end) and he was a delight. Completely knowledgeable regarding every item we asked about--very attentive without being overbearing, and had a friendly, outgoing personality as well. We will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    67
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a nice place to have within five minutes of your house. Staff, atmosphere and menu did not disappoint.

Went there for dinner on Saturday. I expected a very casual atmosphere and almost showed up in shorts and t-shirt. Boy, am I glad I changed before we went. Think of this as a stylish middle of the road restaurant that also has a bar. Great place if you want to avoid the usual chains. This is one of four restaurant affiliates. Feels local. All the servers appeared as age 21 und under.

Beer and food selection is very good with different drink specials every day. Everyone can find something that they like. Menu is easy to read and well organized. Get a burger for under $9 or go fancier with most dinner options for $17-$28. Cocktails $7-$9. Beer $3-$4, depending on when you are going. Tuesday is great for beer enthusiasts, Wednesday for wine connoisseurs on a budget. Food is a little on the heavy and salty side. Tastes good though.

This is not a dive for for cheap grub and booze. Don't go if you are a Scrooge. Make reservations on weekends. This place is popular for large parties. Come on a date, with family, with friends or hang out at the full-service bar by yourself and enjoy a good time

I will be back sometime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tuesday 4-6 $2.50 Draught and 1/2 Price Appies”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped by for a quick beer. Sat at the bar and were served by an entertaining young male bartender. Once informed of the great deals,we proceeded to have 2 draughts with calamari and wings. Excellent beer selection and terrific food.We will certainly stop by again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice lunch”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

pretty good food and the service was good as well. fairly poor selection of beer for a tavern, though. we had a nice lunch. would return if in the area again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tbcshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

visited while on a business trip..did a quick google search and found this place...came in and was seated right away...waiter was great...food was great..just overall a must go to while in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyI825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy G's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sammy G's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing