We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Granny!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granny's Donuts & Sandwiches

Granny's Donuts & Sandwiches
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in High Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Granny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Good doughnuts, great prices, nice service. Lemon/raspberry donut holes esp good. Glad we searched out a treat after finding Penny Path closed for maintenance. Load up for the next day, they keep!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pairandaspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great in taste & price for fritters ($.85 for one!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Love nearly all their items. Only thing is a few things taste pretty much the same just in a different form. But the fritters and the custard filled are really good. Heard the tarts were good as well ( we could only get so much!).

Will be back next time we're in HPt.!

PS
Saw the other review about the fritters without any apples so I'm not sure what happen to theirs. Ours had loads!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bsnestrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They get it right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Granny's is a favorite of my entire family. So many options in the window but I suggest the Plain glazed, you can't go wrong, Once you have one of these you won't look elsewhere for your donut fix, and they are twice the size of the chain donut brands. So light with the right amount of sweetness. Guarantee you will return. The cheese croissant is a fav of my mom. Reasonably priced & easy to get hooked. Puts Donut World to shame in my book. They offer a variety of donuts, turnovers, brownies, cookies, smoothies,and flavored shakes, Go to Granny's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“THE BEST DONUT ... EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We found this little bakery from a review on TripAdvisor. What a treasure! The donuts were unbelievably good ... the best apple fritter I have ever had in my life. My daughter highly recommends the red velvet donut, and the chocolate glazed with sprinkles. Honestly, if I lived near this place I would weigh 1000 pounds ... decadently delicious!!! AND, if course, because your in North Carolina, the people were SOOO nice!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SJC21508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
287 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Where are the Apples in the Apple Fritters???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I live in High Point and was thrilled to see Granny's at #2 in the restaurant ratings. Goodness knows, we need some real homemade doughnuts here! The reviews of the apple fritters really caught my attention. There's nothing quite as fantastic as a great apple fritter. So I set off to find Granny's and bought a sampler. The apple fritter is hyper-sweet and there was nary a trace of apple in it. The pumpkin spice doughnut was gummy. The plain doughnut was...plain. Fear not, there are some good choices. The chocolate doughnut with chocolate icing is not too sweet and the topping has a nice hit of real chocolate. The buttermilk doughnut is actually rectangular in shape. It has a fresh smell and taste and is not overly sweet. It's my first choice. A good runner-up is what I believe is a sour cream doughnut. It has a large central opening and its consistency is similar to the buttermilk doughnut. Crunchy, lightly browned, pretty darn good. Granny's reminds me a lot of the Donut World location that closed recently in the Staples shopping center at Main and Hartley. Prices are good, service is very nice, but the fritters, ah, the fritters, they need work.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCLoggerheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny's Donuts & Sandwiches also viewed

 

Been to Granny's Donuts & Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing