We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing compares to JH Adams!!!!!”
Review of J.H. Adams Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
J.H. Adams Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This hotel is the very best! My husband & I have stayed here since 2003 while our daughter was attending HPU & we've never been disappointed. All the staff, especially David, are so wonderful! It feels like our second home. The decor is beautiful! You will not feel like you're staying in a hotel....more like a bed & breakfast! The bathrooms are so luxurious & classy! The restaurant, Southern Roots, has outstanding food & the cuisine is amazing! Once you stay at JH Adams, you will not want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2007

We planned a short trip to High Point to get furniture ideas for a new home we're building. Found JH Adams on trip advisor and it was an excellent choice.

The people there were so friendly, the room very comfortable and the restaurant was awesome. After two long days of shopping it was great to have an excellent meal right there instead of heading out again.

We would plan a trip back to the area just to stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MarciaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

In a word? Wow. We stayed in one of the Main Street Guestrooms on the 3rd floor of the new South Wing. The suite was amazing and very well appointed. The bedroom was quite large and included a nice loveseat, a comfortable easy chair near the windows, a table with 2 chairs, two nightstands, a very nice armoire that also concealed the TV, and a large bureau. The room also included traditional triple-sized crown moldings and planter shutters on the windows. Though they said it was king-sized, the bed felt huge. Our oversized bathroom featured a walk-in shower as well as a whirlpool tub with porcelain tile flooring and twin granite vanities. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. There is a beautiful veranda between the Main Inn and the South Wing that would be a great place to dine and relax in the spring and summer. Parking was easy and very convenient. Now, time for the things that a newbie should know. First of all, despite what the picture looks like, this Inn is not in a rural setting. The Adams, for all its charm, sits near downtown on a main street in High Point. NC. Secondly, the rooms that face that main street, also known as Main Street, can feature a fair amount of traffic noise. Thirdly, MapQuest will give you vague directions if you’re traveling on I-85 south from Durham. I would recommend getting the directions from the J.H Adams Inn website. Those things notwithstanding, this place is a real treasure. We’ve already made plans to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jerrywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

We checked in and had a friendly clerk. What a beautiful historic home. Only 3-4 rooms in the main house. We reserved a "main street room" in the 3 story buliding next to the house. Room 31 - Kinkaid on the third floor. The room had had high ceilings, four windows with plantation shutters, King bed w/ Frette linens, sideboard w/ coffee maker, small dining table w/ 2 chairs, easy chair, loveseat pull-out bed, 2 night stands w/ clock radio & sound machine. The bathroom was awesome w/ a large walk in shower, granite 2 sink vanity, mini fridge underneath and a HUGE whirlpool tub. We were very happy w/ the accommodations. We made reservations at the restaurant - Southern Roots so we did not have to drive anywhere. We went downstairs to have our complimentary glass of wine from the hotel before dinner. The bar area was nice but the restaurant staff was not very professional as they talked casually amongst themselves, and some off duty employees came in to chat. Seemed more like a breakroom. We sat for dinner and ordered 2 appetizers, a bottle of wine, 2 entrees and dessert to go. The bill was pricey for a small town, almost as much as the room, but the food was good and the menu was creative. The next morning we went down for the continental breakfast. It was nice as well, I am just partial to a hot breakfast when splurging - even if I had to pay extra. There was a beautiful patio outside in the courtyard that would be wonderful in nice weather. The clerk at check out was kind of blah - not really interested in how our stay was or giving thanks for being guests. That's sometimes the norm in the service industy :( However, we would definately would stay here again. It was a very nice one night get-a-way.

2  Thank LetsGoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2005

This is a small luxury hotel,not a bed and breakfast as it is sometimes referred to. Each room has it's own bathroom and empty refridgerator. The street it is on is not the prettiest but there really are no other choices. There is one resort (Grandover) but nothing else compares. Most other hotels are simple "Days Inn" types. The Radisson is down the block and leaves much to be desired. Breakfast consists of muffins, breads, cereals, and fruit. The hotel is top quality all the way through. Frette linens (although the pillows were a bit small and hard) high ceilings, doors as thick as my arms, and a staff that is unrivaled. Certainly the nicest people around (esp. David). If you are furniture shopping the location is great and central. I doubt anyone would be disappointed here.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2005

The JH Adams Inn was one of the three inns that we stayed in on our trip to the South. Wish we could have stayed in this hotel for the entire trip, for it was great.

We had a room with a two double beds and it was large enough for a family of four. The bathroom was huge with two sinks, a shower and a separate bathtub.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Turns out that the restaurant is the best in town, so you need a reservation for dinner. The continental breakfast is complimentary.

After all this perfection, the price is a bargain. In California, this room at the JH Adams would be twice the price.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank marti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Taylors, SC
16
Reviewed September 4, 2004

I read the other review here about this inn, and decided to check this place out. It is really that good.

We stayed in their cheapest room, and we absolutely impressed by the value we received. The staff was also extremely helpful in recommending places to shop and eat.

If you are ever in High Point, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Point
1.7 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
176 reviews
4 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#11 of 14 in High Point
544 reviews
7 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Point
212 reviews
18.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 39 in Winston Salem
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.H. Adams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.H. Adams Inn

Address: 1108 N Main St, High Point, NC 27262-3116
Location: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range: $170 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J.H. Adams Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your J.H. Adams Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.h. Adams Hotel High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing