We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a better place to stay.”
Review of J.H. Adams Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
J.H. Adams Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent staff from the initial call in to book a room to the hospitality that the entire staff offers. Just like having a family away from home. Great rooms and food. Management to employees to late check outs it is in a prime location

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaLuB, Guest Relations Manager at J.H. Adams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for the excellent 5 star review! We’re so glad you felt at home and enjoyed the food in Hampton’s Restaurant. I’ll pass along your compliments to the Chef and Staff. They strive to attend to every detail and provide a quality experience for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in High Point! Thanks again for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent option if you're in the High Point area. Good in town location,friendly staff ,excellent rooms all at a very reasonable price. Heads above the typical motel experience. I was playing in a golf tournament nearby and picked the JH Adams thanks to a referral-I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaLuB, Guest Relations Manager at J.H. Adams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for sharing your great experience with others! We love it when our guests feel like they’ve received the value they expect with friendly service. I’ll pass your compliments along to the staff. We do have quite a few golfers playing at area courses that stay with us on a regular basis, and look forward to having you back next time you are in High Point! Thanks again for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped here for one night while on a road trip up the east coast. The service was excellent, with a complimentary glass of wine, which we enjoyed in their restaurant. We didn't eat dinner there but we did try their house-made chocolate torte, which was heavenly.

Our room was in a newer wing (an annex building attached by a covered patio). The room was lovely - a historical feel but with all the modern amenities you could ask for (plasma TV, powerful AC, etc.) The bathroom was enormous, with a gigantic bathtub.

Highly recommended for anyone looking for something different than the ubiquitous chain hotels along 85.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBloomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaLuB, Public Relations Manager at J.H. Adams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thanks for your EXCELLENT review! I’m so glad you found us and was able to stop over on your road trip. We are convenient to the interstate, and in a perfect location close to fine shopping and dining. Our complimentary wine is an inviting way for our guests to relax and enjoy friendships while sharing travel stories. Our staff prides themselves on offering a unique experience for guests who enjoy the history and ambiance of this old Italian style mansion built for a prominent industrialist and businessman, John Hampton Adams. The 27 room addition to the original House was built over 10 years ago, which is where you stayed. I am happy you enjoyed your guestroom and bathroom as they are very spacious. Thank you so much for appreciating our elegant character and quality services.
We hope you will stay with us again next time you are passing through, and thanks again for sharing your experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Recently, members of my family had a wedding event at the J. H. Adams Inn. It worked out very well for us as many people came from out of town and stayed at the Inn. As noted in many of the reviews, the rooms are very nice. Ours had a king size bed. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated with new fixtures and a large tub. The wedding and reception afterward were held in the covered courtyard between buildings which provided a good private setting while also convenient to the hotel rooms. While our room faced the courtyard, local ordinances require no noise after 10:30 PM, so things quieted down relatively early. Our family's event was not the only wedding there during the weekend we stayed.

The only notable problem, which has appeared in other reviews, involves breakfast service where the staff allows the eggs and sausage to totally run out before preparing more. The staff otherwise did a wonderful and friendly job of supporting our event. If I return to High Point, I would definitely stay here over the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard will be quieter, although not a major problem as noise is limited afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaLuB, Manager at J.H. Adams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us an EXCELLENT review! We frequently have travelers staying with us who are attending a wedding in our courtyard, and we thoroughly enjoy the opportunity to treat our guests to a wonderful stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the guest rooms. Thanks for your feedback about the breakfast service. I will take this back to my team to improve upon our timing so there are no delays in replenishing popular dishes such as our farm fresh scrambled eggs. Thanks again for your review and your recommendation. I look forward to your return business, next to time you travel to High Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent the night at the JH Adams during our anniversary weekend. It is a nice older inn located in High Point. The staff was outstanding and very accommodating. This was our first time in the area and she provided us with lots of information. We were a short walk from a very nice restaurant. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room also had an oversized bathtub. I would consider staying here again if visiting High Point

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltownwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaLuB, Manager at J.H. Adams Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor! Our staff takes pride in assisting guests in finding their way around High Point and giving that extra attention. I will be sure to share your compliments with them. I'm glad you also found your guest room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again on your return to High Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I had a great experience here. I stayed for 2 nights while in High Point to shop for furniture. The location is very convenient to all of the outlets and stores. It is in a lovely old section of town with many restaurants close by. The public areas of the inn are charming and historic; my room in the new section was completely modern and beautiful. The room had a real wow factor with beautiful furniture and a fantastic bathroom with an oversize soaking tub. The people were all helpful and nice and the rates were very reasonable. Those rates include breakfast and a glass of wine every night. I ate at the in house restaurant one night and it was very good, too.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms in the old section are like, but the ones in the new section are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent two nights at the JHAdams Inn in two rooms for the five of us. The inn is a former large home with a new addition next door. The Saturday we arrived there was a wedding reception in the inn. The inn was entirely booked and the staff busy. Still we were warmly welcomed. We had rooms in the new addition. Each room is differently furnished with furniture from the local furniture manufacturers. Room 35 had a beautiful 4 poster bed and number 32 had white beach-casual furniture. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was roomy with a tub/shower combination. The tub was large and inviting. My only suggestion for improvement would be for the complimentary breakfast every morning. While the the food is fine with sausages, eggs, and pastries, there needs to be more staff to keep up replenishing coffee and the hot foods. The Sunday morning we were there for breakfast the one server went above and beyond to take care of the guests. Based on our weekend experience at the inn, we would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Point
1.7 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#11 of 14 in High Point
534 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
7 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Point
210 reviews
18.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.H. Adams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.H. Adams Inn

Address: 1108 N Main St, High Point, NC 27262-3116
Location: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range: $153 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J.H. Adams Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your J.H. Adams Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.h. Adams Hotel High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing