We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
J.H. Adams Inn
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 High Point(High Point)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard High Point(High Point)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrium Inn(High Point)
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(High Point)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
128
48
9
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
48
9
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary glass of winefurniture shoppingmain streetboutique hotelthe main housegallery roomsouthern charmintimate barhigh ceilingsdeep bathtubrestful staycontinental farebeautifully appointed roomsworth the detourlong dayswedding ceremonyspecial events
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 193 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This place was a pretty sudden decision...which I usually live to regret. NOT THIS TIME!!!
The Inn is in a fabulously remodeled mansion with all the charm intact. The soaring ceilings and archetectural details were amazing. The courtyard was so soothing, I regret we didn't have time to enjoy it more. The sweetest desk clerk greeted us like we were royalty. When I had trouble with the key card, she came to the room and fixed the problem immediately and apologized several times. After a long drive, we went to the small intimate bar for a drink and were surprised to find out we got a complimentary glass of wine. The bartender was friendly and informative, giving us a little bit of house and town history as well as tips on shopping places. Our room was amazing!!!! Again, the high ceilings and details such as plantation shutter were a nice touch. The tub/shower was so big you could get lost in it. The robes a plus. Our bed was so comfortable and the room so quiet we slept late and missed breakfast.

I cannot say enough nice things about the J.H. Adams Inn in High Point. I WILL be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank horsinaroundwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights while furniture shopping in North Carolina. Unless you like chain hotels, I would not stay anywhere else in Highpoint. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and furnished by local furniture companies -- so no two are alike. The continental breakfast is fine, if not "great" but it is served in a gorgeous courtyard room in the main house that has a lovely huge patio out back. This room doubles as the restaurant in the evenings. We did not eat at the restaurant but heard that it is considered one of the two best in Highpoint. The atmosphere is certainly wonderful. There is a great little bar and a free evening glass of wine is offered to guests. The bartendress was a charming and solicitous woman. We really enjoyed her hospitality. The owner likewise is extremely friendly and helpful. She told us the history of the inn which was really fascinating. There are also photos of the original owners and photos of the original condition of the house.The main house has a few suites but most of the rooms are in an annex built in more modern times. It matches the house. There is a safe in the room and bathrobes are provided. Water pressure is excellent in the annex -- we stayed on the third floor. The inn has quite a roster of regulars -- especially for furniture market in the spring and fall. A great restaurant is Blue Water. We ate there both nights. Their crab bisque is world class and try the Summer Breeze -- a fantastic martini with various fruit-infused vodkas. If you are going furniture shopping, you should not miss "Furnitureland South" -- it has a MILLION square feet of furniture lines at discounted prices. The prices are discounted in a major way from retail environments. Better yet, go to town before market (Feb-Mar) in the spring and visit the EJ Victor and Theo Alexander showrooms and outlets. EJ Victor manufacturers very fine furniture and their uphostelry is made here in America. They manufacture the high end Ralph Lauren line. There is also a Hurtado showroom but it was not open when we were there. We had two houses to finish furnishing and bought a lot of nice furniture out of the EJ Victor outlet. Theo Alexander manufactures the Althorp (Princess Di's ancestral home) line among others. Their showroom had some amazing deals but you must arrange the shipping yourself. Lastly, there is an enormous (100,000 sq ft) furniture consignment place on Ward Avenue called High Point Art & Design Center. I could not believe the amount of furniture they had -- really unique stuff. They also have a store called Antiques and Interiors in downtown High Point. We didn't make it there -- only had two days.

Room Tip: Stay in a room to the back of the Inn. There is a busy street out front and it might be noisy. We didn't hear a thing in room 336.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeannie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed at the JH Adams Inn 1/24/12 - 1/26/12. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and beautifully furnished. Each room is different and unique. They offer a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning and have a wonderful resteraunt and lounge area. The staff was very gracious as well. I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone that wants a quiet and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akklkoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Spent 2 nights here with my husband and loved it! The inn has a quaint independent feel, definitely void of the typical commercial feel of hotels. Each room has was "adopted" by local furniture companies, offering a unique touch to the rooms. We stayed in 14, or the 'red room' and loved the overall appearance and comfort of the room. The mattress was extremely comfortable, don't remember sleeping so well in a hotel before. The bathroom is huge with a tub large enough to fit two comfortably. Would definitely recommend to those looking for a reasonable priced stay away from the hotel chains in High Point, NC.

Room Tip: Loved Room # 14, also known as the red room
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyside1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I spent New Years Eve at the J H Adams Inn in High Point. It is a beautifully restored hotel in the heart of the city. We enjoyed a delicious meal in their well decorated dining room followed by music by a jazz bed in the main lobby. The hotel has been remodeled with the assistance of many of the local furniture companies in town. An often missed fact that was of interest to us is the hotel use to be a funeral home! We truly enjoyed our stay and feel anyone traveling near High Point should stop in for dinner in the dining room, drinks at the quaint bar or an overnight stay in their well appointed rooms. You wil not be disappointed!

Room Tip: A few suites are available but all rooms have been remodeled and have very comfortable mattresses!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lexxi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews