We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Point
north carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what you pay for”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

I booked the Honeymoon/ Anniversary getaway package for my 10th wedding anniversay. The website describes a king size deluxe room, romantic getaway, with a fireplace and a jacuzi.
We left after seeing the room, and were given a full refund. It was a small room, with a king size bed crammed into it. A electric fireplace and a jetted bath tub. There was nothing romantic or even cozy about the room at all. The toilet seat was broken as were the shower doors. Yes there was a bottle of champaign, but that does not make for a romantic getway. Very disapointed, we ended up going home and not having anything fun to do for your anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank elizcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfordGM, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham High Point, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Thank you for taking time to reflect on your brief visit to the hotel. I sincerely apologize that none of the important aspects of your stay were acceptable. Whle we attempt to ensure the comfort of all of our guests, it appears that we were unsuccessful as it related to your important event.

Chris Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    198
    114
    57
    28
See reviews for
244
119
42
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This hotel was suggested to me by a colleague and I am truly glad that Iistened. The staff really made me feel welcome from the first time I walked in until I left. This place has true character. The rooms were larger than I have seen at the other chain hotels, the free drink was an added bonus and the arrangement with The Rush Fitness. I had no complaints and would enthusuastically recommend this hotel to anyone coming in town.
This staff is the best!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alivein09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfordGM, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham High Point, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
We are glad that you made the trip and truly appreciate the kind words about your lodging experience. It is our goal to ensure a quality experience to each of our guests.
We look forward to hosting your next trip in the Triad area.
Chris Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noth Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

The Ashford Suites Hotel located in High Point, North Carolina is not only my favorite but a favorite for my family and friends as well. We all live locally but often visit because of the EXCELLENT General Manager (Mr. Chris Adams), Staff, Customer Service, Accomodations, Family Atmosphere, Good Food, Mulligan's Pub, Attention to Detail and these are just to name a few of their qualities.

Everytime I walk into the door it's like a family reunion. When people reconize you, address you by your first name and know what you like and what you don't like, well what more can I say?

Not only have I recommended this hotel to family and friends but I have also referred business associates and prospective business associates to reserve rooms at this hotel when traveling to our area. In the professional world I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Ashford for holding events, programs and seminars.

I am the Senior Account Executive with the Greensboro Chamber of Commerce and I am recommending we hold our New Member Reception at the hotel in addition to other programs and events that are offered through many of our departments within the organization.

Thank you for the opportunity to recommend this hotel and I would never hesitate recommending the Ashford Suites in High Point to anyone.

Most Cordially,
Robin L. Hill

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana112855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfordGM, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham High Point, responded to this review, July 2, 2009
On behalf of the staff, allow me to thank you for such a glowing review. We are appreciative of your support and recognition of the services provided to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

My wife and I had the opportunity to visit High Point, North Carolina, last weekend. We were in the market to purchase furniture for our home and discovered that we needed an additional day to see all High Point had to offer. We decided to stay at the Ashford Suites and were very pleased with the facility and service. The staff was most professional and very accommodating. I hope Ashford Suites are available nationwide in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLSmith917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfordGM, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham High Point, responded to this review, June 28, 2009
On behalf of the staff, allow me to thank you for providing the Ashford Suites Hotel an opportunity to host your visit to the Triad area. Further, thank you for taking time to use this forum to articulate your sentiments about the hotel. We take customer feedback very seriously and are heartened by your postive review. Do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly in the event that we may provide anything further or host another visit.

Thank you!

Chris Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

After staying in this hotel, I'm starting to believe that I went to a different hotel since it was not as described in the last reviews. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade. While I appreciated the amenities (fireplace, hot tub, etc), the hotel just feels abandoned and the employees unconcern. My room had a slight musty scent and the hallways were dark. I'll be staying in a different hotel next time I have to travel to the the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshfordGM, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham High Point, responded to this review, June 28, 2009
I am appreciative that you allowed the hotel to provide your accomodations while you were a visitor to High Point, NC. I am disapointed that your experience was such that any further trips to the area will result in staying in another hotel. We would have appreciated the opportunity to have a dialogue while you were a guest to demonstrate our seriousness towards providing a quality experience. We take customer feedback to heart and maintain the position that we are able to get better after hearing what our customers have to say.
Once again, thank you for staying at the Ashford Suites Hotel. I would enjoy the opportunity to further discuss your experience. I can be reached at 336-812-8787

Thank you
Chris Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

The hotel was a great experience. The rooms were very clean, and the customer service was excellent. The hotel is just a couple of miles from the airport and very convenient to restaurants. Would highly recommend Ashford Suites.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Really good hotel, especially for someone on a business trip who wants all the comforts and friendliness of home. A really comfy bar with good atmosphere, decent workout facilities, a nice little pool, and a couple of nice restaurants right next door. The staff were really friendly and made me feel attended to. I especially like the free drink on the bar at arrival - very welcome after a flight. I was only there for a couple of days on a business trip, but was almost sorry to leave. Oh, and the buffet breakfast was really good. and free!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixLandslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Point
5.3 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.9 mi away
J.H. Adams Inn
J.H. Adams Inn
#2 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#8 of 14 in High Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham High Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham High Point

Property: Wingate by Wyndham High Point
Address: 3901 Sedgebrook St, High Point, NC 27265-8703 (Formerly Ashford Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham High Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham High Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing