We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A SLEEP INN ANYMORE, MOTEL 6 NOW”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here in February of 2012 for one night and one night only. Entire hotel smelled like cigarettes. Lights were burnt out in bedroom and bathroom. Cigarette burns on blankets and mattress. Do not stay here. Front desk was nice though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernhospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked the jacuzzi room which was located on the third floor - same floor as breakfast, which not not a problem for me. Check in was smooth sailing since I booked the room online. The room was quite small but comfortable. The bathroom was huge since it had the jacuzzi in it.The room had an odor to it - perhaps from the many guests who smoke. Nevertheless, about 2:00am, there were some guests next door who were very loud talking, and slamming doors and it kept me awake, but not long later, the noise stopped and upon checkout, I made the young lady at the front desk aware of my issues and she let me know that the manager "had taken care of" whatever was going on in the room next to mine. The location was tucked away, but I could still hear the young people racing their engines on 70. The staff was good and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnualFamilyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep_Inn-Hickory, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I do apologize for the noise from the other guests. I did respond to the noise immediately when it occured and tried to keep it as calm as possible. We look forward to you visiting us again the the future.

Steve W. Starnes, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I had gotten a couple of rooms for myself and for my brother and his wife. From the outside it looks like your typical sleep inn design. When I walked into the lobby, the first that I noticed was that the couch looked dirty and dingy. The check in clerk, I believe his name was Dustin, was nice, but looked tired. I checked in I started walking down the hall. I started becoming more apprehensive about the hotel. The hallway was poorly lighted and narrow. The carpeting was old and worn. The hallway walls were dirty with sploches on them. When I got to my room, I found out that my double bed room was actually two very small rooms that they had removed the interconnecting doors from. This seemed a very strange arrangement. The carpeting in the room was also old and worn, with ciggarette burns in it, as was the furniture. I will say the room was clean. (It passed the sister-in-law test.) The bed was some what springey, but was comfortable. The next morning when I got up and took a shower, it turned to be a good shower. The water pressure was good with plenty of hot water. I thought it was odd to find the breakfast room on the third floor, but this was no big deal. I was told they had sausage biscuits , but when I when I got there at 9:00 they were not to be found. I asked who I assumed to the breakfast attendent if I could have a couple. She repeated what I said and walked away. I did not see her again. I found Dustin working again the next morning when I went to check out looking a little less tired and again friendly. My nights stay turned out better than I thought was going too, but from my past experience with the Sleep Inn chain, I was somewhat dissatisfied with the hotel. It was not up to the standards I become use to experiencing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmm154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep_Inn-Hickory, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honesty with your review. We are now under new management and are working to correct some of the issues you described.

We will be undergoing major renovations over the next several months and the issues with carpeting and furniture will be resolved at the point.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next vist to the Hickory area.

Steve Starnes, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We booked this hotel based on price and location. It is a budget hotel with a good location far enough from the Interstate so it is quiet. My first impression was not good because the lobby smelled of cigar smoke. The check in was fine and the man at the desk was very helpful. The room was a little smaller than average. The was a small bathroom with the biggest shower I have ever seen. I did expect very little for breakfast but that was no the case. The breakfast room is on the third floor and that is a first for me. Also it was very well stocked which was a surprise.
I think that because of it's low price the hotel was full of contractors and crews working in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep_Inn-Hickory, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Mr. Jerry, Retired

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We always look forward to receiving feedback from our guests. It tells us what we are doing right and where we need to improve.

To specifically addressed some of the points in your review we have added a new air freshner to te lobby to counteract the smoke smell that comes from some of the guest rooms in first floor. I am very happy to hear our signature showers were a plus during your stay. The deluxe continental breakfast we offer is a hallmark for us. During 2012 we will be migrating to a full breakfast to further meet the desires of our guest.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to serving our again when you are in the Hickory, NC area.

Steve W. Starnes, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff and management of the Sleep Inn hotel did their very best in making sure everyone who was involved with the Pageant had everything we needed as well as went out of their way to make sure we had the uptmost comfort and pleasant time while we were there. From checking in to the young man working the night shift, including the housekeeping staff were all extremely pleasant. Thank you!

Room Tip: The entire 3rd floor of the building was smoking which was a great ease for most of us who were ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamonique_Lacoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep_Inn-Hickory, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. The staff and I strive to make all of our guest feel comfortable and at home during their stays. Half of the third floor is now non-smoking to accomodate our guest who prefer non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately because of insurance requirements we are no longer able to unlock the windows on upper floors.

We look forward to your group's next visit with us and are very pleased to be your hotel of choice while in the Hickory, NC area.

Steve Starnes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with our Mini Aussie Shepard Jack, and it was like we were old friends coming for a visit. The GM Steve was courteous and genuinely concerned with our experience.

He told us that they were trying to make this a pet friendly destination and they are doing a great job. This motel is very conveniently located and is perfect for a budget minded traveler.

All the staff was friendly and I would recommend the Sleep Inn in Hickory to anyone.

Please note that this an older motel and everything is not shiny and new, but its clean and was quiet when we were there. There is a waffle maker in the breakfast room and there is a nice selection of food for anyone's taste. Big plus for strong water pressure in the shower.

You can tell that they are striving for improvement and that means a lot in my book.

If you have a dog, be sure to ask Steve about the carob dog treats , our guy loves them !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep_Inn-Hickory, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Jim S.

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We value each and every guest that walks through our doors and thier opinions. Yes, we value the four legged furry guests as well.

The Team and I take all opinions, good, bad or indifferent and use that feedback to continuously improve the services, surroundings and overall stay provided to each guest.

I am very happy to hear that the treats provided were well received by your Aussie. He was such a delight for then entire staff as well as some of our guests.

The entire Team at Sleep Inn - Hickory, NC look forward to the both of you visiting with us again in the future.

Steve Starnes, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

we use this hotel often for my college's homecoming and the staff takes extra measures to ensure we enjoy our stay. the manager, steve, and his stay go out of their way to make sure we have everything we need. i would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep_Inn-Hickory, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. I was a pleasure to have you and your fellow alumni with us for the homecoming weekend. The hotel staff and management all strive to provide the highest level of hospitality for all our guests.

We look forward to next year when you and the guys arrive again to celebrate Homecoming.

Steve Starnes, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#10 of 13 in Hickory
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#9 of 13 in Hickory
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
4.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1179 13th Avenue Dr SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5176 (Formerly Motel 6 Hickory)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Price Range: $62 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 story, all interior room property strives to be "not your ordinary Sleep Inn." Rooms available include single queens, exceptional 2 room doubles, upgraded rooms with whirlpool tubs, both smoking and non-smoking. Breakfast is complimentary, guest laundry on site and the expected Southern Hospitality from all staff members! Pets are not only accepted but welcomed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Motel-6, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Hickory
Hickory Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing