We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in a couple Red Roof Inns and they can be questionable choices. This one, however, worked out well. Though a little run down, everything was clean, pretty comfortable and the staff was helpful. Tremendous value, mostly quiet, easy to get to. Nothing special but little to complain about.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review! I am glad that you decided to give Red Roof a chance. Keep your eye on us as we roll out a new product in several locations! Many of our properties are getting a little age on them but we like to think of them as aging like a fine wine =). We pride ourselves in maintaining and upgrading our property. I am very glad that you were satisfied during your stay.

Thank You,

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    47
    27
    19
    23
See reviews for
53
46
38
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very impressed with the cleanliness and presentation of the room. Bed was comfortable. Location felt safe and was an acceptable distance from shopping. Close to restaurants. We really appreciated that the hotel has a no smoking policy, it made our stay even more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are lucky to have such a great location! We are close to everything and have plenty of dining options. Thank you so very much for your positive review. We love hearing what our guests have to say. We value your opinion and your business!! Come see us again very soon! =)

Thank You!

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Honestly when I think of Red Roof inns, I think the worst. They are always in the bad part of town and because of the price, have a bad clientele. I was completely wrong with this facility. The room (107) looks upgraded. For the price you cannot beat it. Flat Screen TV, clean shower and tub, clean sheets. No odors. Grounds are well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We LOVE hearing when we get it right!!! I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, safe, quiet place to stay for the night. Please come back and see us again soon!

Thanks!!!
Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

So we stayed at this motel because the reviews were really good and it was cheap and convenient. Our "non-smoking" room was formerly a smoking room and although it had been two years since they'd had smoking in the room, you could still definitely smell it. The whole room had a faint smell of smoke. The floors were not very clean and the bedspreads just seemed kind-of nasty so we just slept with the sheets. I hate to leave a negative review because it was $45 and the staff was really friendly. But, I felt misled by the reviews on this site because we'd planned on spending more and staying at a nicer place but the reviews were so great that I felt we'd be crazy to stay somewhere else. Never again! I'd pay for something a little nicer and forego feeling like you needed to take a Clorox shower after staying here. When we called to make a reservation, they said there were hairdryers in the rooms. There definitely was not one in our room but we were so creeped out by the room that we didn't want to shower there anyway so the hairdryer was a moot point.

Room Tip: Make sure your non-smoking room isn't a converted smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to provide each guest with a very clean room that they can feel comfortable in. I do hope that you will give us another try and another chance to show you that we can do much better for you in the future. Thank you so very much for your feedback. We will use it as an opportunity to improve.


Thank You,

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were in town to visit with family. On our first night we stayed at another hotel (Days Inn), and had an awful experience with the heater not working and a grouchy manager. The next night we decided to try Red Roof Inn on our daughters advice. What a difference! The room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable, and they were able to get us in on the ground floor...we are both seniors and stairs are difficult. Easy check in and out, and we also got a senior discount which made the room about 20.00 less than the other room. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Hickory.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to hear that you had a positive experience with us! We LOVE feedback and are always so delighted to hear when our guests have a great stay. We try very hard to accommodate all requests and know that it is important to make each and every guest feel Confident, Significant, and Delighted! I was very happy to hear that you will be staying with us whenever you are in town. Don't forget to go online and apply for our RediCard! It's a great way to earn points for a Free Nights Stay!


Sincerely,

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stay at Red Roof Inns often because we like the free internet, typically good locations off interstates, and that they accept pets for free. We made reservations here for a quick weekend away in the mountains. It was not up to the standards of the other Red Roof Inns we stayed at as many of them have been recently renovated. When we got there we were informed that the washing machines were broken and it was taking extraordinarily longer to wash sheets and that the first floor room that we reserved was not ready. We were asked to move to a two-double bed room which we agreed since we had our dog with us and needed to get her settled before dinner. She said it was no "upgrade charge" but when we got to our room it did not have the microwave or the refrigerator like we reserved. Oh well....I did not say anything (I should have). During the night we saw police driving around the parking lot too, which I had never seen before. The fan on the heating unit had a slight rattle too. There were lots of nearby restaurants, and it is easy to find right off interstate. So, this is a basic room, no frills.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I sincerely apologize that our washing machine was down on the day of your arrival. Some of our properties have undergone our Next Generation remodel and we are so very proud of them. Our staff here at Hickory strives to provide our guests with very clean rooms and outstanding customer service. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future and give us a second opportunity to WOW you =).


Thank You

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My Wife & I stayed there thru New Years day while visiting family in hickory.It was very clean and had a microwave and flat screen TV,fridge,very comfortable chairs and a nice desk area to work with a laptop also wifi. the people at the front desk were very helpful. all this at a great price. will stay there again.

Room Tip: none they all seem excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad we had the opportunity to serve you well. We know that many travelers need a comfortable place to sit and work on their laptops. Our in room computer desks are just the ticket. Coupled with free WIFI guests can finish up their work then relax on our new mattresses and enjoy the flat screen. I am so pleased that you enjoyed these features. We look forward to serving you again next time you're in town.

Thanks A lot,

Kimberly, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 13 in Hickory
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#10 of 13 in Hickory
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hickory

Property: Red Roof Inn Hickory
Address: 1184 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, I-40 at Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, Exit #125, Hickory, NC 28602-5169
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hickory 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory — THE center for furniture outlet stores! Red Roof Hickory is within 1/2 mile of the Hickory Metro Convention Center and within 1 mile of the Valley Hills Mall and Hickory Furniture Mart. Hickory Speedway, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and L-P Fran Stadium are all within a 10 minute drive from this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing