We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfey”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were given the Super King non-smoking room which had a desk area that is set up like a little office. The bed was clean and comfortable. We had a large flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator and found the staff to be helpful and polite. Excellent rate for this very nice room. We will go back to this motel again.

Room Tip: They do not offer breakfast at this motel but is very close to lots of restaurants. Also very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karatedo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your compliments with the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Robyn Ingalls Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    47
    27
    19
    23
See reviews for
52
46
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Siloam,Nc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Rooms were very clean and updated only wish it had a microwave and refrigerator in it. The rooms need more towels and washclothes since there was four of us who stayed. The beds were hard and not very comfortable but tolerable for just a couple days stay. The lobby staff were nice and friendly. The hotel was close to eating places and shopping. We will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Had a room on top floor and had to carry everything upstairs so I would ask for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mes75Siloam_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your compliments with the staff. We are pleased to announce that we are in the process of equipping several of our double bed rooms with the micro-fridge units. While all of our first floor rooms do have brand new mattresses we are currently working on getting new mattresses for the second floor as well. We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again when you return to Hickory.

Robyn Ingalls Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astor, FL
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is without a doubt the nicest Red Roof Inn we have stayed at. Most have been good to very good, some we will never stay at again. This one is very good plus.
We were warmly welcomed by the evening clerk and upon entering the room we gave it the "smell" test. No smell at all and the bed was made up especially nicely. First impressions are really so important.

The room was very reasonably priced and included many useful ammenities including a refrigerator, microwave, safe, wide screen tv, coffee maker (that made pretty good coffee) and a desk sitting area.

The bathroom is small but the shower is excellent. The only criticism would be the bathroom towels that were somewhat small but they were clean and new. Also the internet is a bit slow.

The morning clerk, Robin, was very helpful. Thank you Robin.

This is the Red Roof Inn that we will use to judge others in the future. It has set a high standard. We have no reservations about recommending it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your compliments with the staff. We do appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Hickory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised from the moment I walked in to the lobby--bright, clean, and up to date. The room was the same--modest but very adequate, appeared recently painted, coordinated furnishings. "New flat screen TV's". Good enough lighting. Reliable wireless. Good shower. The toilet must have a slow leak as it kicked in, loudly, every so often so I turned it off to sleep. The highway was pretty loud from my room but I expected this since the motel is situated so close to it. I would suggest calling the motel directly to get best price, before booking on line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I have shared your compliments with the staff. I apologize that the toilet in your guestroom was loud and ran continuously. I have notified our maintenance staff regarding this issue and am confident that this is issue will be resolved quickly. We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting Hickory.

Robyn Ingalls-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'd love to give this location the benefit of some doubt, but I didn't enjoy staying here. I was placed in the far, far corner of the hotel on the second floor. The stairway was taped off with caution tape and the light in front of my room was out. I rarely feel like I'm in a horror movie, but I was a bit uncomfortable here. I had to walk around the building to bring up my bags. Wireless was spotty. The room was a bit musty. Just... eh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies that the light outside your door was out. I have notified our maintenance staff regarding this issue and am confident that it will be repaired immediately. I apologize that the staircase closest to your room was blocked off with caution tape as we were repairing a step and painting that staircase. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to you giving us a second chance in the future.

Robyn Ingalls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

When we first pulled down our sheets, there were small black hairs in the pillow cases and sheets. We attributed this to probably pet hair. Then we were immediately distracted by a small brown bug. My husband said it was probably just a beetle. Today, my two kids are covered in what we now know are bed bug bites. I would not recommend this Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay. Our children are covered in bites from bed bugs today. We saw one when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 97LoriBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of the issue regarding your guestroom. I apologize that you experienced an issue. I have taken appropriate steps to contact Gregory our third party vendor to address these concerns. I look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Besides the usual clean value priced rooms at Red Roof Inns, this one is surrounded by a stand of trees, cutting down the noise from the Interstate. The front desk personnel were competent, friendly, and they sincerely wanted guests to have a good stay. For the price this is a good one with no frills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eegegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof152, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hickory, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your compliments with the staff. Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business. Robyn Ingalls-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 13 in Hickory
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hickory

Property: Red Roof Inn Hickory
Address: 1184 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, I-40 at Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard, Exit #125, Hickory, NC 28602-5169
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hickory 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory — THE center for furniture outlet stores! Red Roof Hickory is within 1/2 mile of the Hickory Metro Convention Center and within 1 mile of the Valley Hills Mall and Hickory Furniture Mart. Hickory Speedway, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and L-P Fran Stadium are all within a 10 minute drive from this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing