We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't sit on furniture”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't sit on furniture”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This has to be the nastiest hotel I have seen in years. Booked it online and when we told management the room was not satisfactory they told us too bad you already checked in. We ended up paying for an used room for 4 nights. It's not just that it is very dated... It's dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    23
    17
    14
See reviews for
49
42
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

When we arrived we had been in our car for over 17 hours with our 4 kids. Needless to say we wanted to get in and relax. The desk staff was wonderful and expedited our check in but when we asked about the pool we were told inspectors had not yet verified the installation of newly-installed handicap apparatus. This meant their pool was unavailable and would remain so for the length of our 2 night stay. However, the staff and owner took it upon themselves to call affiliated hotels in the area to inquire about their pools (while I was out relaying the bad news to my family). Unfortunately none of the other area pools had been inspected either. So they called unaffiliated hotels and even the local YMCA to try to solve our little "problem." They went over the top to see us happy but couldn't overcome the fact that a pool wasn't going to be available and so they instead helped us identify other activities we could engage in as a family and our early evening was saved!
The hotel appears to have gone through some recent renovations with carpeting, pool, and landscaping upgrades. We were very happy with the suite we stayed in.
It is close to restaurants like Cracker Barrel and Hooters (walking -75 yards) and fast food, too. Shopping is within just a couple miles. We had no problem getting anywhere in Hickory from the hotel in a hurry. We reserved online a week or so in advance and paid less than $100 per night for a suite with double beds, a fold out sofa, and whirlpool tub.
We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouth of Wilson, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having two sons who attended Lenoir Rhyne University, we have stayed at this hotel for many years. We are always welcomed graciously and have been very impressed with the staff and hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean! The beds are wonderful - great sleep! With all that, a great breakfast is provided!

Room Tip: The king suite is great. Little kitchenette, living room with pull out sofa bed if you need extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurap536, Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Feedback from our guests is very important and helpful. We are grateful for your compliments and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had an emergency and thought that we would have a hard time finding a room. Quality Suites went out of their way to find us a room. The staff were VERY nice and were nice to us and friendly. The only trouble we had the person in the room over us left his shower curtain out of the tub and water dripped into our room. This problem was taken care of immediately and the mess was cleaned up.
I have nothing but praise for the Quality Suites, and is located close to the convention center and several top line restaurants.
Over all it is a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurap536, Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We would also like to thank you for acknowledging our staff on their performance. I do apologize about the situation concerning the room above you. We're glad to hear that the situation was taken care of immediately and to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a meeting in Hickory and took my wife and two children. Stayed in a room with a king bed which came in handy since both children had to sleep with us. Very quit hotel. Very Clean. Nothing but good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babiesmake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurap536, Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and for your compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm a at a loss about all the good reviews this hotel is getting. I can say that the staff was pleasant, but that's about it.

The room was dirty and old. I could go on and on, but let the pictures I'm uploading speak for themselves. I don't know about the rest of the property. Maybe I got the worst room they had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurap536, Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize for the problems you encountered. Please be assured that your experience is below our standards. We are currently under renovation and remodeling. We have some newly renovated rooms just recently opened so if you are in our area again, please give us a call and we will provide you with our newer rooms.

Your compliment about our staff is greatly appreciated.

As soon as we have completed all our renovations, we will be posting new photos of our property.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been going to the Quality Suites in Hickory frequently for business. All of the front desk staff are extremely courteous and helpful, as is the hotel manager. The breakfast is great, rooms are spacious, free internet, desk, couch and extra chairs, beds and pillows are SO comfortable. This is a great value for the price. All-around great experience staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurap536, Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to providing the same great service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 13 in Hickory
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#7 of 13 in Hickory
207 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1125 13th Avenue Dr SE, Exit 125 off Interstate 40, Hickory, NC 28602-5176 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites is under new management as of May 2012. This property has a great location, adjacent to Cracker Barrel and several other resturants. We are less than 10 minutes away from various shopping and malls and Union Square in Downtown Hickory. A complimentary full hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, suasage patties and sausage links, biscuits, gravey, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, waffles, fresh fruits,assorted danishes and assorted cereals is served daily. Outdoor pool is located in the center of our courtyard. Guest laundry is on site. We have a fitness center and business center available to our guests. Pets are allowed with a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hickory
Comfort Suites Hickory
Hickory Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing