We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great rooms great breakfast bar......”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Great hotel to stay in friendly staff .....great rooms stayed in a king room was gorgeous set up nice with everything you need ....bed was fantastic...... Pillows were soft and fluffy.....breakfast bar was super.....pool was gorgeous and very inviting.....when we come back we will definitely be staying here :)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri2437186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSManager, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Terri2437186,

What wonderful words, the staff will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are so glad you selected us while here in Hickory. Please consider Quality Suites when you return to the area.

Warm Regards,

Wendi Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2010

The lobby is wonderful and the breakfast area very nice. The staff was great and very helpful. I like the outside entrance to the rooms. The rooms, though clean, need updating with new furniture and drapes.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OcieKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSManager, Director of Sales at Quality Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Dear OcieKate,

We are happy to hear you found our staff to be very helpful during your stay here. I agree that the lobby is wonderful and personally find it welcoming. Although outside entrances are not as common as they once were, we are pleased to still have them, as guest like you find them convenient. Please stop in again when you are in Hickory, we are currently making changes as I am confident you will like the differences.

Many Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Not bad, Hickory has very few hotels, choice was courtyard for $130 or comfort suites for $77. Choose the comfort suites, not a newer hotel, but large rooms, clean, comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarheels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My stay was great, the rooms were a good size and made you feel comfortable. The staff was amazing and the breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jatoro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

On our way back to Atlanta from UNC we stopped at the Comfort Suites in Hickory. We normally like Comfort Suites for a nice room with comfortable beds as well as the continental breakfast. This Comfort Suites is old, dirty, and the bed mattress and boxspring were extremely worn and stained. The room had a musty smell and most rooms have exterior doors. I would stay away from this hotel if you are looking for a nice, average hotel. We left within minutes of viewing the room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alarones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSManager, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Dear alarones,

I understand it has been over a year since you were at our property and I regret that you were dissatisfied with the facility at that time. Since your visit here, our property has undergone new management and we are actively making great imporvements in many areas. There are challenges of being an older hoel, such as the downstairs exterior rooms, however we do also offer half of the guest rooms on 2nd floor interior corridors. Please allow me to welcome you and your spouse to the new Quality Suites on your next trip to through Hickory, I am confident you will be glad you stopped in. We still offer large, comfortable rooms and a full hot breakfast buffet.

Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Hotel staff were unfriendly and rude, never " can I help you" but "what do you want" This happened 3 times in 2 days. When they say breakfast at 630 don't get there at 625 because you wont eat or if you do it will be in the dark. Rooms dark and bathroom is very small. No elevator. Place needs a management change.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I can't believe that this hotel received ANY good reviews!!! They either have completely different rooms from what I stayed in or people have VERY low expectations for hotels!!! This place was disgusting! We arrived at midnight extremely weary from a long day of traveling (15 hours) with three kids (15,12,6). Apparently, extreme exhaustion will cause you to make unwise decisions. My husband found this hotel on the internet earlier in the day and booked it using reward points. When I say the internet pictures don't do the hotel justice, I don't mean in a good way! Yes, the lobby is very nice....but that's not where I would be staying! The room stunk, had peeling, stained wallpaper, a stopped up sink, and a filthy, old bathtub. The door to our room had apparently been pried open at some time ( I shudder to think why), and never repaired properly. We were deeply disappointed that Choice Hotels allows this place to remain a part of their franchise!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArkansasAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 13 in Hickory
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#7 of 13 in Hickory
215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
#12 of 13 in Hickory
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Address: 1125 13th Avenue Dr SE, Exit 125 off Interstate 40, Hickory, NC 28602-5176 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hickory
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites is under new management as of May 2012. This property has a great location, adjacent to Cracker Barrel and several other resturants. We are less than 10 minutes away from various shopping and malls and Union Square in Downtown Hickory. A complimentary full hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, suasage patties and sausage links, biscuits, gravey, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, waffles, fresh fruits,assorted danishes and assorted cereals is served daily. Outdoor pool is located in the center of our courtyard. Guest laundry is on site. We have a fitness center and business center available to our guests. Pets are allowed with a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hickory
Comfort Suites Hickory
Hickory Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing