We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good, but not great.”

Thai Lotus Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 276 Restaurants in Hickory
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's good, but not great.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I like the atmosphere in Thai Lotus (we've been in this place many time through its various ownerships and name changes), its pretty inside, the staff is very friendly. The food is underwhelming. It's good, but not great. The presentation is nice but the flavor is just not there. The tulip dumplings had very little flavor, though the dipping sauce was good. My Pad Thai was just ok, I have had better, I make better. Nothing to write home about. My son got Pad See Ew. It had excellent flavor but lacked salt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmeNC1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Decent, but better Thai food across the street.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant is quite average. I agree with other reviewers that it is comfortable, has quiet interior, and certainly attentive service. The food is only average though.

The Thai Dumplings looked and tasted very generic, and both my wife and I were quite disappointed with the bland tasting Pad Thai. My son ordered the Pad See Ew, which was probably the best thing at the table.

I doubt we'll be back simply because we can just go to the best Thai restauant in Hickory, right across the street!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GEHky913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food, excellent service”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thai Lotus is a jewel. This privately-owned restaurant offers authentic Thai cuisine that is fresh, hot, delicious and beautifully presented. Molly and her staff are friendly and professional. We had a private dinner party of 10, and all the orders arrived perfectly prepared and wonderfully hot. The restaurant is quiet and so comfortable, a place to relax and dine rather than eat and run. Did I mention the prices are very reasonable? They are! Plan to have lunch or dinner and enjoy the best Thai food in Hickory.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place was great all the way around. The food was fresh and delicious. Just perfect! Our server was very accomodating and lovely. This is a great place to eat. The price was right. We were there apparently well after the crowd. Nobody in the place and after tasting their food, I can't imagine why! This place is just amazing! It must be a secret or word has just not gotten out yet. There is another Thai place just across the street that is good, but this place is even better. If you ever go to Hickory, try the Thai Lotus. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowDogCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were told by others that know the difference that we should try the Thai Lotus because it was very authentic to actual Thai cooking. We tried it out and have been back twice since. Great Thai food, excellent friendly service, uncrowded dining rooms, and extremely reasonable prices. I've been to the main other two Thai restaurants here and they're good as well, but I'll continue to dine at the Lotus rather than return to them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lotus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Lotus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing