We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whether to go on a Wednesday or a Thursday evening for Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tripps - CLOSED

Tripps
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whether to go on a Wednesday or a Thursday evening for Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tripps is a very great place to go for a delicious dinner and a great glass of wine.

On a Wednesday evening the prime rib is on special I think it is $10.00 for a very large piece, and it is delicious!

On a Thursday evening bottles of wine are 50% off! All their mine list, not just the lower priced bottles. Coupled with Popcorn shrimp (a specialty) and the regular excellent menu it is a great evening out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Perth_ScotlandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conover, NC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Seafood Platter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I always love to eat at Tripps... the fresh bread with olive oil is delicious. I enjoy their fresh salads with almonds added. My new favorite dish is a seafood sampler with flounder (fried), crab cakes and fried jumbo shrimp with fries... more than enough food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyjb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Business dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

So let me start by saying that I've been to Tripps several dozen times and to the one in Hickory off exit #125 I-40 at least 15 times over the past two years. This was the first really bad experience I had which has caused me to be disgusted by the food and caused me to write this review.

It is my hope that this review will prompt the management to step up the game so that Tripps get's back to where they should be.

Service was slower than normal and the place was empty. The shrimp dish I had that was recommended by the waitress was average but not up the quality I've had there before. Something tasted blah....

Now the worst part, the steak. I ordered a filet which came out gray, rubbery, and smelled like a garbage can!! Obviously the meat was bad. I tried one piece and was completely disgusted to even send it back. C'mon who sends a steak out like that?

Step it up Tripps. I'm on the road a lot between Asheville and Raleigh and would be delighted to keep you on my list of favorite places but not if this is how the quality slips off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebestdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening meal with excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The special and personalized service. The food was prepared exactly as desired and was the highest quality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Tripps always serves delicious food, salads on ice-cold plates, entrees on warm ones. The fresh bread is always hot. The service is so professional. The food is beautifully prepared and served in good time. The ribs and steaks are delicious! They will give you a free dessert on your birthday, so try the Carnegie Deli cheescake flown in from New York City.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing