We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun, cheap!”

Hickory Crawdads / L.P. Frans Stadium
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun, cheap!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Fun local activity. Tickets are cheap. Very family oriented but fun also for singles. Thirsty Thursday!-all drinks only 1 dollar

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolinatraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Fun!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

No matter how many times you've been, this place always seems to generate that same feel of excitement. Great way to spend a Friday evening out with the family! I was there recently and found that they have started carrying craft beer on tap! Very Cool! Way to go guys. Will be back for sure!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaymurphy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“CLASS ACT”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

i went to see a game in Hickory on Saturday 6 July and noticed they had a $1 discount for military personnel. i showed my id and they said the military is free and gave me a box seat on the 3rd base side and thanked me for my service. i have had this happen one other time in Lakeland Fl but it was for a special night. to do this every night is awesome and a big thank you to the crawdads for being a class act.

as for the stadium itself, it was a good place to watch the game. the concessions had the usual food but did have chick fil a sandwiches which were hot. they have a special place to eat down the first baseline but i didnt check that out. the stadium also has a small roof portion which helps with the sun and the pouring rain and lighting which happened at my game.

the only negative i had about the stadium is you have to look through the net from virtually every seat in the stadium. i don't like to sit behind the net but understand for safety reasons they have them when most people are not paying as much attention to the game as they do their kids and their phone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelvirginiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for ballpark food!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The chicken fingers are wonderful! For ballpark food, they have great food at good prices! And the employees are really nice and friendly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
working, traveler
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My Husband and visited for the first time, and we loved it.
There's a carousel for the kids, and other kids games.
They offer a quick comedy entertainment between innings.
We also were pleased with the prices our seats were $8 and we sat 5 rows away from the Field.
Food can get pricey, like they offer a Chick-fil-A sandwich for $6. But they also offer Tasty Hotdogs for $3, small hamburgers are $4. There's also Popcorn, peanuts, and French fries. Dominos sells small Pizzas for $4, and beverages are Pepsi products either in a 16oz bottle, or fountain drink in a cup with ice.And they also serve Beer, but I'm not sure what the prices are for those.
The game is upbeat, and relaxing. And a great way to get out of the house.
We will definitely go again soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CnMTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Crawdads / L.P. Frans Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Crawdads / L.P. Frans Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing