We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun To Explore!”

Catawba Science Center
Ranked #2 of 9 Fun & Games in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fun To Explore!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This attraction is to visit. For the price I paid for my family, it is worth it (I paid $26 for a family of four). The tickets were priced at discounts because I am in the military and have two children under age 10. The museum is set up to attract children of all ages- This is especially true for kids between 6-10. There are a lot of fun hands on activities that helps children learn about science. For example, the museum allows people to touch small sharks and sting rays. The best part of the museum is the planetarium. If you have time, go to the planetarium; watch laser show! My only minor complaint is that this museum is small, but I can tell that this museum is growing. Worth checking out, especially on a cold, rainy day.

Helpful?
Thank Black0ut1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“catawba science center”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we went here jan 2013, it was really cool more for the kids but i wanted to feed the sharks they just threw food but it was a pond inside had rays and 3 baby sharks but actually it was really cool we did do some of the hands on things, there was this tornado booth you go in and the winds go up to 78mph, feels like if youwere in one, i was it was cool dont want to be in one but it was cool,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamProperMeikle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hands-on fun!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family has visited the science center 4 times in the past 2 years and my kids have greatly enjoyed it each time. My children are currently 1st grade and younger. It is fun for the kids to interact with most of the exhibits. They have their favorite places that they look forward to going, yet each time they have focused in on something new. The outdoor play area is always a hit! Each time we have gone to the museum, the kids have also liked the visiting exhibit. These also had hands-on components.
Our family has taken advantage of the center's Free Fridays. These are listed on the calendar on their website. While it is a little more crowded, it makes for a cheap, fun family day.
One con: There are some awkward areas for moving with a stroller. In one area you have to either use a wheelchair lift or carry the stroller up a set of stairs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hugreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised - great for young children!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Science Center is very hands on for children! Our group of kids were 8 to 1 1/2 years old - they all had a great time. Lots for them to touch and explore! They enjoyed the planetarium which had a show about "little star" (our youngest fell asleep during the show). The kids felt like each corner had something "new" and exciting. The center is not huge and not an advanced science center but a great basic science center with lots of activities for the kids. We stayed for 1/2 day - brought lunch and ate outside at the tables near planetarium. I am sure you could do it in less time but we ate lunch and the let kids enjoy! There are also tables inside a room located in the same building as planetarium along with couple vending machines. It took about 1 hour from Charlotte and we found it worth the drive! We will definitely return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank macdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The horrors and the joys”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Where to start... I have been to said museum 100+ times in my lifetime. Whether visiting for school field trips or family outings, the CSC is a place you go when in the mood for germy, gentrifying, generally geological geriatric entertainment. It's actually quite entertaining if you're visiting for the first or second time. The museum exceeds expectations for a small-town establishment such as itself, so don't assume that you're paying so much to see an old turtle, a tank of water, and a bearded woman. You're actually paying to see an old turtle, a tank of water, and a case of dead butterflies. Alas, various and sundry interesting exhibits accompany these science museum staples such as exotic animals, a substantial climbing wall, and a Kinect-like motion simulator, along with a wind tunnel with gusts exceeding seventy-nine miles an hour. These highlights, however, are just that: highlights. Don't waste your time perusing the lesser exhibits, which most guests will find extremely elementary. Too childish for adults and too stationarily boring for children, the majority of the remaining sights are something to skip over. Instead, tour the adjoined art museum, which is free of admission and very well executed. The Hickory Museum of Art is highly superior to its scientific counterpart and holds entertainment for visitors of all ages. Anyway, if you're thinking of going to the CSC, plan on taking less than an hour to experience this Hickory staple.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larkin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catawba Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Catawba Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing