We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hickory
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worthy 3 stars”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hickory its a beautiful town. The people I've worked with here are some of the best in the country. The Best Western is not deservedly a 3 star property and so forth over priced. Head to the 2 star for the money or just go to the Plaza. The staff here is understaffed and overworked.
Do go play golf at the Rock Barn. Its the real deal !

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPLAYGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    125
    37
    17
    5
See reviews for
135
110
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Space Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in town visiting colleges and spent one night at the Best Western. Used AARP and got a very good rate of $85, for a non-smoking king bed room. Good size with separate chair, plenty of desk/table space, with good size bathroom area. Flat screen TV, continental breakfast, and nice workout room that even included all-in-one weight machine. Check out is at noon and the staff throughout the stay were very cordial and professional. Right off I-40, minutes from a mall and numerous eating establishments, both sit down and fast food. It was over $30 cheaper than a hotel one block away and well worth the stay. Whether for a night or weekend, a great place that is close to restaurants and shopping, major highway, and 3 miles from Lenoir Rhyne. I travel all over the southeast and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a delight ful 3 nights here bed great. Room clean. Very good breakfast with a large seating area which we also used each evening for tea and chat with friends will be back. Good location for local wineries and Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was very impressed by the overall quality and cleanliness of the Hickory, NC, Best Western. It is very convenient at exit 125 off I-40. The room was not large, but had every amenity we needed, staying two to a room. The beds were comfortable, the room was DARK and QUIET. The air conditioner was unobtrusive as the compressor turned on and off, though in the morning the heater made a bit of a racket when it was turned on. I was most impressed by the breakfast, very nearly a full breakfast though it calls itself continental. The breakfast room was spacious. Everything worked, the staff was friendly and very efficient. We will definitely stay here again as we travel to see family in NC.

Thanks, Best Western!

Room Tip: If you would prefer an interior room, you MAY need to use the stairs to get to the second floor, at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG35073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a great few nights here. Staff very friendly and polite. Love the drive up to room option and location within walking distance of 2 restaurants. Room was clean, front desk called within hour of check in to ask if all was ok and bed comfortable. Lots of breakfast options and coffee\hot water 24/7
Would stay here again. Yes a/c unit was a little like a plane landing right in you room but did not bother me overly much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePiratesPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The front desk service was great. Very clean reception area. We were given a room on the backside of the building so it was exceptionally peaceful, or at least it would have been if the AC didn't sound like a transfer truck getting ready to blow up. The room looked clean at first, but then I found the mold in the shower and on the wall behind the toilet. There must have been a leak for a while, because the wall paper was actually peeling up. With other decent options in the area, I think we'll stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgolddragon2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here on 2 separate nights and found the hotel to be quite nice. King room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the room had a microwave and refrigerator. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#10 of 13 in Hickory
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 13 in Hickory
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hickory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hickory

Property: Best Western Hickory
Address: 1520 13th Avenue Dr SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hickory 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing