We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place good atmosphere”
Review of Josh's on Union Square - CLOSED

Josh's on Union Square
Price range: $13 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As you will notice in the following reviews we are a little bit of everything for everbody. So just come and have a great time and leave the rest of the world at the door. "Chef Josh Phillips"
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice place good atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

josh's is a very comfortable restaurant with a good atmosphere. the food is prepared nicely and the presentation is good. they have a changed menu often and offer specials frequently. the pricing is very good for what you get and all meals are consistently good

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    41
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I went for Josh's for a special occasion on a Friday night and a very good time. Called in for a reservation a few hours earlier and my call was returned a while later to confirm. The restaurant was fairly busy while I was there, but might not have been necessary to make a reservation.

The menu is deserve and original. The beer selection was good with more reasonable prices than most places. Whatever sides are ordered come family style, so you can share sides with whoever you're eating with. The dishes were fairly small but very well prepared. Some places you can order with the expectation of leftovers to take home, Josh's doesn't serve that way, but it's not a problem for me. Great service, nice atmosphere, a little pricey but not unreasonable. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julbo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious southern fare with a Josh twist!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love coming here for Josh's daily specials. My favorite is the fish and chips on Fridays. It's got a crispy, tasty beer batter crust. His tartar sauce is homemade and deliciously different from the ordinary tartar sauce. Slaw and fries complete the meal and are a great complement to the fish. He has a different special each day and any day would be a great day to try Josh's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than a Square Meal”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

When traveling, we always try to find local restaurants rather than dining in the chain restaurants that cluster around motels off the interstate. A little research led us to Josh's on a Friday night after a long drive from Memphis. Though the restaurant was bustling with locals who all seemed to know one another, we were seated after a short wait.

Our waitress was informative and enthusiastic and explained the choices thoroughly. The wine list included both domestic and foreign with choices from France (Rhone and Burgundy), Italy, Spain, Australia and South America. The house pinot grigio satisfied my wife, and my California pinot noir was excellent. Though not extensive, the menu offered a variety of choices of appetizers, entrees, and sides. Tired and hungry, we decided to try the bbq shrimp appetizer. What we got was unexpected but delicious: plump, tasty shrimp in a delicious broth with onion and tomatoes. Our only regret was that we had no bread to sop the broth with. The choices for entrees were intriguing and varied -- Cornish game hen, duck breast, lamb skewers, beef, trout, scallops, short ribs (you get the idea). My crispy duck breast with wild blueberry gastrique was cooked perfectly medium rare; the gastrique's sweetness and tartness was a perfect complement to the duck. Both of us marveled at her butcher steak with balsamic pearl onions; once again the accompaniment to the entree was well matched (and once home we tried to reproduce the pearl onions only with sauteed mountain trout -- still delicious). Included in the entree price are two sides, and the sides are generous enough to share ( we did). We found the roasted brussel sprouts and parmesan mashed potatoes delicious, the grilled asparagus good, and the sauteed spinach a bit bland. Feeling we deserved a treat after driving so long, we split a double chocolate bread pudding. Nirvana! Our waitress brought the plate of scrumptiousness to our table and simultaneously poured chocolate sauce and maybe a creme anglaise over the top. We were not prepared for the luxuriance of the dessert.

The atmosphere is charming, the food delicious and reasonably priced, the service good. We left absolutely stuffed and glad that we drove a little ways to find Josh's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Absolutely the best meal we have had since moving here! Great service and Josh himself seems to really care about what is served. Service was excellent...amazed to have a restaurant of this caliber in Hickory!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josh's on Union Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing