We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
34
53
24
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
53
24
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great mattress body odor parking lot top floor marriott hotels yogurt convention center sausage patties right next door within walking distance front desk staff nice hotel indoor pool s cafeteria short drive wi fi blowing rock
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 119 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn during my recent North Carolina
"furniture shopping" excursion. Since I used Marriott Reward points for my 3-day stay, I had no idea what type of room I'd get...I am pleased to say that the room was perfect....very clean and very comfortable. This is a newer property and is very convenient to everything. There is a complimentary continental breakfast served daily that is fantastic...oh, and there's FREE wireless! I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the near
future.

Date of stay: April 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank amexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2006

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn over the Christmas holidays. The hotel is clean and the beds are very comfortable. The lobby is nicer than expected and breakfast included biscuit sandwiches, waffles, cereal, muffins and fruit. There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance and many other restaurants and a mall accessible via a short drive. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pennylane7_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

This hotel was as close as we could get for the Charlotte races. Stayed two nights. The hotel was clean. Bed was fine however for some reason there are no blankets or bedspread. Bathroom was clean and stocked.Someone has decided to use just a "small throw for color apparently.

The breakfast was not much and part of this I thought was due to the inability of the person on duty to keep the food supplied. While trying to fill the coffee machine she spilled coffee on the floor and all over the machine. She was trying but she could not get things organized.

Parking was good and close to the door. We stayed in a room at the far end of the hotel and the wireless would not work. The front desk provided us with a "bridge" in order to pick up the signal, however it would still not work. I called the provider's 1-800 number and in just minutes I was on line. Very good service by the provider and the internet speed while not lightning fast was acceptable.Exit doors were always locked and you needed your room key to open---this was good for security.We would stay here again on a one night stay. There is a Caraba's in front of the hotel so dinner was a snap.

Date of stay: October 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed on the first floor. It had two double beds and a nice size bathroom. The beds were wonderful! The beds did not have a bedspread. It had sheets and a blanket and a small cover over the bottom. It was really nice not to worry with a dirty bedspread. There were three pillows for each bed and they were so soft. The pool and the breakfast was above average.

We did have to ask for more towels. There were none at the pool and we had to ask for them. We only had three sets in our bathroom and we had four people. No lotion provided only shampoo.

There was a strange (bad) odor when you first walked in. The carpet was not vacumned where the machine could reach. The floor was dirty between the bed and chair. Also the inside of the shower curtain was gross! It had black mold all over it. The room looked clean when you first walked in but it was not deep cleaned.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2005

The Fairfield Inn Hickory is a nice place to stay for a night or two. It is perfectly located near hundreds of places to spend money. Outback Steakhouse and Carabba's (sp?) are within walking distance. Just across the road is a Hooters, as well as several other lodging establishments. The furniture market is within 5 minutes, and downtown Hickory (very tricky to navigate) is within 10 minutes.

The hotel itself is a 9 year old property, but is still very nice. According to an employee, the hotel is going to renovate all 1st floor rooms and turn them into suites. We stayed in a 1st floor room, which was nice and large, with 2 doulbe beds, a chair and ottoman, poorly lit desk but comfy desk chair, and huge bathroom. The breakfast was decent for a continental breakfast (did have waffles and sausage biscuits) but poor selection of beverages and fruits. There were cookies at check in which were delicious, and the pool was warm and large. THe workout room has 2 pieces of equipment and there is not a hottub/sauna on site.

Hotel staff was very friendly, and helped whenever we needed anything. I will mention that the property is a bit old (9 years) and that it isn't quite up to par with technology (1 phone in the room and only 2 internet bridges), but had 60+ TV channels.

A nice, cheap place to stay in Hickory for a few nights with moderate amenities and wonderful location.

Date of stay: January 2005
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews