We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Plaza - Hickory, NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great hotel, very nice amenities however the staff was absolutely OUTSTANDING. Everyone was very helpful and nice during our conference. Unfortunately I locked my keys in my car, they had numbers for locksmiths readily available, they made sure I was very well taken care of during this stressful time.
Also there were restaurants in walking distance. Outback and Roadhouse. Also the breakfast buffet was excellent and very affordable.
I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the Hickory area,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you Byron P for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that the time you spent with us was enjoyable. I am sorry to hear about your keys being locked in your car and I am glad to know that our staff are taking care of the guests in the manner that they should in such a stressful situation. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for choosing our hotel for you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 392 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Very friendly staff that was willing to go out of their way to make sure your stay was pleasant. Lisa Brooks was excellent! Would recommend this hotel to any friends or families traveling. Food done by Chef was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hello Jennifer B and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that our staff took care of you and were doing so in a friendly manner. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is an older Holiday Inn property that has changed names a few times. It is clean, but if you were hoping for a newer property, this is not it. Also know they do have a portion of the hotel that has outside entrances. For women traveling for business, please know this. When I booked a hotel room these were noted.

Service at check in and breakfast the next morning were excellent. Bedding and beds were comfortable, but the carpet was clearly past it's prime and contained a "smell". Room was overall clean. When in the area again, I will consider this location but perhaps ask for a room with newer carpet/updated. I didn't feel I could walk around bare footed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you orreo5859 for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you feedback on the carpet in our hotel. We recently have been working to install new carpet to update the facilities and appologize that at the time of your stay you were not comfortable with our carpet in the rooms. Additionally, we appreciate the positive feedback as well about the service of our employees, breakfast, and bedding. We hope to see you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although not exactly what I was expecting, I was satisfied. The hotel lobby and atrium is very inviting and open. The front desk staff was courteous and efficient. I started to get concerned when I saw how dirty the carpet was in the hallway leading to the guest room. Even though the carpet in the room was dirty as well, the bathroom and beds were clean. I was expecting a little more quality from the room furniture, however it was clean and in good shape. I would not recommend this hotel for families or romantic getaways but for business travelers it is just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connoisseur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Connoisseur72,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our football team enjoyed their stay. From the time we arrive, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful in ever way. Our guys enjoyed the rooms and the whole atmosphere was AWESOME. The meeting space was large enough to accommodate our whole team and staff. The booking process was pleasant considering it was a last minute decision.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnez G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you Arnez G for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. It was our pleasure to host your football team and we are very happy to hear the guys enjoyed the accommodations and the staff. I am very pleased the meeting space was sufficient for your team and I hope everything was successful. We look forward to doing business with you in the future and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been coming to Hickory for the past 6 years and nearly every time I stay at the Crowne Plaza. By far the best feature of this property is the staff. To a person, they go out of their way to welcome and support every guest. Multiple conference rooms make meetings of any size possible.

What keeps me from a full '5' rating is that the facility is very dated and really needs a full renovation. I have had loud AC / Heating units, broken shower heads, difficult thermostats and other small annoyances, but these are all things that are able to be corrected. (And again, the staff is very accomodating.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you Mark S for taking the time to post a review about your experiences at our property. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff. We take great pride in the customer service we deliver to guests. I do apologize for the annoyances you have had in the past, and although small - we take all feedback very seriously. Thank you for your loyalty to our property over the years Mark S, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I and my wife travelled from the UK (via Toronto) to run a 3-day Pencil Drawing workshop at the SALT Block and chose the Crowne Plaza for two simple reasons... we could use the Hickory Hop bus to and from Charlotte Airport, and it was the only hotel to have its own restaurant. I don't drive in the US and I do like to eat!

What we didn't know is that this hotel is also the best we have ever stayed at - and we've stayed at many US and Canadian hotels over the past few years.

It's difficult to know where to begin...
-- It's friendly (very!)

-- Accommodating (we were offered the use of the shuttle every day to get to our venue, and the local shopping mall)

-- Very nicely designed in a quirky but interesting way (that's the artist in me!)

-- The staff were brilliant in every respect, especially Juleigh who couldn't do enough for us.

-- On days that the restaurant was closed, we ate from the same delicious menu at the bar or in the lounge. First-class food and varied. The breakfasts were equally as good.

-- Bad points... there simply weren't any.

-- Stay there again? You bet!

And that's just scratching the surface...

Room Tip: The rooms are rather spread out on two floors but easy to get to, even if you don't use the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you MikeSibley for taking the time to post your experience with us at our hotel. Might I add, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your detailed review! We appreciate your kind comments in regards to the design of the accommodations along with the friendliness of our staff. Our complimentary shuttle service is one of the most frequented of our amenities and we are glad you were able to utilize it through the duration of your visit. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the menu in both our Piedmont Park restaurant and the atrium lounge. We are glad Juleigh was of assistance to you during your stay, she is a great asset to our hotel. Thank you once again for the many kind words and we hope see you on your next trip to visit Hickory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hickory
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#11 of 13 in Hickory
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Address: 1385 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hickory
Price Range: $100 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing business and pleasure with style and ease is no problem for Crowne Plaza of Hickory. Located in the beautiful Catawba Valley and less than an hour s drive from the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, as well as the Charlotte Douglas Airport, Crowne Plaza of Hickory is only minutes away from the famous Hickory Furniture Mart, Hickory Motor Speedway, the birthplace of Nascar, Lenoir-Rhyne University, the Historic Downtown area of Hickory known as Union Square, as well as the modern eclectic shopping malls. Lodging in our hotel provides business travelers quick access to almost all major corporations in the Catawba County Area. Unlike other Hickory area hotels, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Hickory helps guests stay well rested with specialized Sleep Advantage amenities, including plush bedding and guaranteed wake-up calls. Our spacious guest rooms include complimentary high-speed internet access, allowing you to stay in touch while visiting for leisure or business. The Crowne Plaza of Hickory provides anyone planning a business meeting or social event 12,000 square feet of versatile meeting space and superior service to ensure your event is a huge success!. Most of all, our guests appreciate how our Southern hospitality makes comfort and convenience a top priority. Come discover Hickory and experience exceptional service and hospitality at the Crowne Plaza of Hickory ..We re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hickory i-40 Hotel Hickory
Holiday Inn Hickory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing