We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gov”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Gov”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza on a business trip for two nights. Upon check in I was told I would get a free drink and appetizers from 5-7. Well I went downstairs around 630 no appetizers. The guy that checked me in was very friendly and courteous. My room was clean but the room is outdated. I was very surprised and disappointed in the room and that this was a Crowne Plaza establisment. The locks on the door of my room did not look very secure it looked as though if you pushed hard it was come right off. It was raining when I checked in and right by the door of my room it sounded like a waterfall. I would not recommend this hotel to my coworkers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bj6138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
bj6138, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback. I apologize for the room situation. We want to make sure our guests feel secure and safe in their rooms, so we appreciate you letting us know about the door situation. I am glad to hear that the gentleman who checked you in was friendly and courteous. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    92
    55
    39
    20
See reviews for
86
56
20
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valdese, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently held our annual Company Safety Banquet at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Hickory NC. There was nothing short of excellence in service and professionalism from the initial call to Cindy Beason regarding planning and preparations, the front desk greeting and accommodating quest arrivals to Elisa inside the banquet room insuring the entire group of guest had anything they could ask for and wanted for nothing. Guest spoke highly of the hotel, the staff and service provided. The Crown Plaza definitely earned our business for future meetings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Chad M, I am pleased to hear we will be seeing more of you in the future. I appreciate the feedback you have given and would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your function.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Upon checking in I was offered free items if I left a good review, they also told me to put the name of the front desk person if i wanted free drinks. My hotel room was extremely outdated, I couldn't figure out if it was once a nice place or if it has always been ran down. The wallpaper in my room would move when I closed the door, no exhaust fans in the bathrooms, the door did not shut properly and you could visibly see outside from the gap in the door. This hotel may have been a beautiful place at one time but it is now past the point of no return.
I am very surprised that Crowne Plaza allows the owners to put their name on this establishment.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy your room at least a little bit stay in the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc_fly_2_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear mc_fly_2_0,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I'd pick the newer ones on the adjacent frontage road. We got in the "executive wing" and got a room whose sliding glass door opened up to the interior of the lobby ground floor. Just what you want when you want some light in the room is for ally the lobby traffic outside your room. ..

This is a converted holiday inn. Old and fully depreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCFlyFisher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you NCFlyFisher25 for taking the time to post your review. We will be updating throughout the hotel within the next few months. We are installing new carpet in all corridors and lobby, repaving our parking lot, along with other upgrades. We value your feedback and appreciate your business. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon my arrival I was greeted at the front desk by Allen and Jackie. I had stayed another time recently and Allen remembered my last name when Jackie misunderstood me. They made me feel like I was coming home again. LaDonna, who serves drinks in the lounge also makes you feel at home, serving just a cool glass of wine at the end of a hard day at the office or running to the restaurant to get my dinner. This will be my hotel anytime I am in Hickory, NC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Toni M, I appreciate the feedback you have given and the time you took to post in here. It is always good to hear that our guests are feeling at home with us during their stay and that our employees are playing a big part in making that happen. We all hope to continue seeing you in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We travel each month out of town for class seminars. Our class was held at Crown Plaza Hickory and was absolutely the best we've been to. Lisa Brooks took constant care of us, our refreshments for the class and checked often to see if there was anything we needed. The kindness of her and the rest of the hotel staff was beyond expectations! Lori Hodges helped Lisa carry out her services throughout the day doing a great job!
A huge thank you to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Donna D, I appreciate the valued feedback you have given us and the time you took to post it here. I am glad to hear that you are pleased with the services provided by our staff during your seminar. We hope you will join us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently, I had occasion to be in Hickory for a few days on business, and stayed at the Crown Plaza. From the moment I arrived, I could not have experienced better service. Quick and friendly check in and it just got better. The food was wonderful, not what one might expect with a buffet style menu!! The ladies in the restaurant went out of their way to remember our names, and to speak each time we crossed paths, Kudos to Juliegh and Ms. Mabel!! Can't say enough about them!

As everyone has experienced, the meeting rooms were chilly for a couple of us, so the girls at the front desk checked their own career apparel, and brought both of us a jacket to borrow that fit perfectly!! I was flabbergasted! The first evening of my stay, the cd player in my room was not working properly and I needed it for work. When I called the front desk, they assured me, Hal the maintenance person, would be there right away. Almost by the time I hung up, he was at my door! Totally professional, with a new cd player, which was also having an issue. He told me that, if there was not another spare, he would bring me his personal cd player so that I could do my work "assignment"! Clearly, not an emergency situation, but it was definitely handled as if it were.

It was a wonderful stay, and I could not have been happier, I certainly understand why our company, a very large national company chooses to book our visits to Hickory at this location!!

Kudos to you ALL!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Barb406, thank you so much for your feedback and the time you took to post it. I am glad to hear that your experience with us was superb. We like to handle each situation as if it was an emergency situation for the guest so that we can keep our guests happy and comfortable during their stay with us. Thank you again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#8 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hickory
Courtyard Hickory
#7 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hickory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Property: Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Address: 1385 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing business and pleasure with style and ease is no problem for Crowne Plaza of Hickory. Located in the beautiful Catawba Valley and less than an hour s drive from the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, as well as the Charlotte Douglas Airport, Crowne Plaza of Hickory is only minutes away from the famous Hickory Furniture Mart, Hickory Motor Speedway, the birthplace of Nascar, Lenoir-Rhyne University, the Historic Downtown area of Hickory known as Union Square, as well as the modern eclectic shopping malls. Lodging in our hotel provides business travelers quick access to almost all major corporations in the Catawba County Area. Unlike other Hickory area hotels, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Hickory helps guests stay well rested with specialized Sleep Advantage amenities, including plush bedding and guaranteed wake-up calls. Our spacious guest rooms include complimentary high-speed internet access, allowing you to stay in touch while visiting for leisure or business. The Crowne Plaza of Hickory provides anyone planning a business meeting or social event 12,000 square feet of versatile meeting space and superior service to ensure your event is a huge success!. Most of all, our guests appreciate how our Southern hospitality makes comfort and convenience a top priority. Come discover Hickory and experience exceptional service and hospitality at the Crowne Plaza of Hickory ..We re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hickory i-40 Hotel Hickory
Holiday Inn Hickory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing