We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza during are move to North Carolina, I was very impressed with the way the staff treated us. I would like to say thank you to Jason for helping us as much as he did, he really went out of his way to make us feel welcome and my kids loved him. This is truly a place I would send friends and family to stay. Thank you Millie for the wonderful food and service.

Room Tip: Interior rooms on first floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you steph c for choosing our hotel for your stay and pleased to know of your good experiences with us. We value the feedback you have given us and appreciate the time you took to post it here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 390 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

"Allen" & "Christina" always make you feel welcome like your coming home. Both are always extremely pleasant and go out of there way to help in any way possible. Rooms are always clean and the steak sandwich is really great!

Room Tip: back side of the hotel you do not get the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you John J for your kind words in regards to our staff. We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stay here at least once a year on our way to SC. rooms are nice enough and staff is always friendly. Rooms could always be a little cleaner and I'm not a fan of the exterior entrances. But after a day of traveling there are worse options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Marge S, thank you for your feedback you have taken the time to post. I am glad to hear that our staff were friendly to you on your visit. One thing we like to make sure our guests have is a friendly welcome and visit. Also, thank you for your feedback on our rooms. We hope to see you in the future. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza. We were in town to shop for furniture and they offered a shopping package that included 1 free drink each from the bar and 2 free breakfasts. The also included in the gift bag a tape measure and 10% discount at certain stores. We used the discount at one location that paid for one nights stay.

The hotel was nice, clean and we enjoyed the bar/lounge area after a long day of shopping. The breakfast was buffet and/or you could order from the menu. It suited our purpose and we were very pleased with the selections.

The room was very nice and appeared to have been updated. The hotel has an odd layout as some rooms are located quite a distance from the lounge, lobby and restaurant. Our room was not far from these areas but we know others were.

There's an Outback within walking distance too! :)

Room Tip: There's two floors to this hotel but some rooms are located quite a distance from the bar/restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeadOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the Hickory Furniture Mart. We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience at our hotel. We value your feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The overall stay was great. I came down for a wedding and this hotel was in charge of the reception. Our waitress Brittany H. was absolutely perfect! She made everyone feel welcomed and that means a lot to someone who doesn't know the area. I really think she would be a great hospitality manager...very friendly. Kelly at the front desk was very nice and welcoming as well. She let us know of good local shops...which I believe in keeping it local. Our room was over-the-top! I never stayed at such a clean and modern hotel. We did have a room on the inside of the hotel with a balcony. They also have separate outside rooms too. My only concern about the whole travel experience was Check-in and Check-out procedures. I had paid for my room two weeks in advance and had my confirmation. They said that I didn't paid and later found out that I did and it was a computer glitch. Then at check-out they were going to charge us for room service which we never used. So be careful and keep tabs on the money situation. Mangement should be more cautious when dealing with people's money!

Room Tip: 2019 is a very good inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 794jamiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you Jamie M for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback and will use that to improve our awareness in reservation billings. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my mom. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food at the restaurant. Our room was clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We also had a refrigerator and a microwave which came in very handy. We would definitely stay here again.
Thumbs up to Kelly and Allen for their excellent service. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisenistgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you Reisenistgut for taking the time to post your experience with your stay. We value your feedback and hope to see you soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hi there, I stayed in Hickory for a few weeks this past spring for a TV show I was working on. Allen, at the front desk, made the stay really enjoyable. He was always fresh faced and accommodating. He knows the town well, so he not only recommended restaurants, laundry and fun things to do, he was a huge help to our production when we had no idea where to find skilled labor or hard to source retailers. The rest of the staff was great as well, but he really made us feel comfortable away from home, and, that's a nice feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you Kelly R for taking the time to post your review. We are always proud to hear great reviews of our staff and hotel. Your team was great and will always welcome you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 13 in Hickory
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 13 in Hickory
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#11 of 13 in Hickory
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Address: 1385 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hickory
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing business and pleasure with style and ease is no problem for Crowne Plaza of Hickory. Located in the beautiful Catawba Valley and less than an hour s drive from the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, as well as the Charlotte Douglas Airport, Crowne Plaza of Hickory is only minutes away from the famous Hickory Furniture Mart, Hickory Motor Speedway, the birthplace of Nascar, Lenoir-Rhyne University, the Historic Downtown area of Hickory known as Union Square, as well as the modern eclectic shopping malls. Lodging in our hotel provides business travelers quick access to almost all major corporations in the Catawba County Area. Unlike other Hickory area hotels, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Hickory helps guests stay well rested with specialized Sleep Advantage amenities, including plush bedding and guaranteed wake-up calls. Our spacious guest rooms include complimentary high-speed internet access, allowing you to stay in touch while visiting for leisure or business. The Crowne Plaza of Hickory provides anyone planning a business meeting or social event 12,000 square feet of versatile meeting space and superior service to ensure your event is a huge success!. Most of all, our guests appreciate how our Southern hospitality makes comfort and convenience a top priority. Come discover Hickory and experience exceptional service and hospitality at the Crowne Plaza of Hickory ..We re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hickory i-40 Hotel Hickory
Holiday Inn Hickory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing