We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable accomadations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Hickory
Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable accomadations”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza. We were in town to shop for furniture and they offered a shopping package that included 1 free drink each from the bar and 2 free breakfasts. The also included in the gift bag a tape measure and 10% discount at certain stores. We used the discount at one location that paid for one nights stay.

The hotel was nice, clean and we enjoyed the bar/lounge area after a long day of shopping. The breakfast was buffet and/or you could order from the menu. It suited our purpose and we were very pleased with the selections.

The room was very nice and appeared to have been updated. The hotel has an odd layout as some rooms are located quite a distance from the lounge, lobby and restaurant. Our room was not far from these areas but we know others were.

There's an Outback within walking distance too! :)

Room Tip: There's two floors to this hotel but some rooms are located quite a distance from the bar/restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeadOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the Hickory Furniture Mart. We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience at our hotel. We value your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    93
    56
    39
    20
See reviews for
87
56
20
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Graham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The overall stay was great. I came down for a wedding and this hotel was in charge of the reception. Our waitress Brittany H. was absolutely perfect! She made everyone feel welcomed and that means a lot to someone who doesn't know the area. I really think she would be a great hospitality manager...very friendly. Kelly at the front desk was very nice and welcoming as well. She let us know of good local shops...which I believe in keeping it local. Our room was over-the-top! I never stayed at such a clean and modern hotel. We did have a room on the inside of the hotel with a balcony. They also have separate outside rooms too. My only concern about the whole travel experience was Check-in and Check-out procedures. I had paid for my room two weeks in advance and had my confirmation. They said that I didn't paid and later found out that I did and it was a computer glitch. Then at check-out they were going to charge us for room service which we never used. So be careful and keep tabs on the money situation. Mangement should be more cautious when dealing with people's money!

Room Tip: 2019 is a very good inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 794jamiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you Jamie M for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback and will use that to improve our awareness in reservation billings. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my mom. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food at the restaurant. Our room was clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We also had a refrigerator and a microwave which came in very handy. We would definitely stay here again.
Thumbs up to Kelly and Allen for their excellent service. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisenistgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you Reisenistgut for taking the time to post your experience with your stay. We value your feedback and hope to see you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hi there, I stayed in Hickory for a few weeks this past spring for a TV show I was working on. Allen, at the front desk, made the stay really enjoyable. He was always fresh faced and accommodating. He knows the town well, so he not only recommended restaurants, laundry and fun things to do, he was a huge help to our production when we had no idea where to find skilled labor or hard to source retailers. The rest of the staff was great as well, but he really made us feel comfortable away from home, and, that's a nice feeling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Kelly R for taking the time to post your review. We are always proud to hear great reviews of our staff and hotel. Your team was great and will always welcome you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Hickory, N C was wonderful. The staff was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. They were happy to help guests. Our room was clean which is my number one priority. The room was very comfortable and attractive. It had all of the necessities that we needed. Thank you!

Room Tip: We wanted a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readingtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you readingtchr for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us and value your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My daughter attended a swim meet in hickory and we selected this hotel with several other families. After a long day I was dishearted to pull back my bed to find wrinkled sheets and hair in the bed. When I called the front desk they eventually sent a young boy with blue latex gloves with sheets to my room so I could make my own bed. Off to bed with the bed I Just made...not much sleep...fridge in room made noises all night. Up early the next morning for day two of the swim meet to get in the shower and find hair..not mine or my daughters in the shower...gross! Then compared my bill to bank charges and was overcharged. Which they explained as a charge they charge everyone and credit back at checkout...ok..just not mentioned at checkin...told front desk about hair....they said they would talk to a manager to see me....at breakfast at hotel but never did see a manager. Would not recommend unless you don't mind making your own bed at a hotel...others peoples hair in your bed and shower and a lack of concern by hotel staff. The rest of our trip was good just not accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smf610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you smf610 for taking the time to post your review. We do value your feedback and will use it to train our staff in hopes that it will not happen again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stay at hotels very often and have had GREAT service and TERRIBLE service. This place was a genuine pleasure to stay at!

I stayed here and hosted a training session as well. The Customer Service was top shelf. The entire experience far exceeded my expectations.

From the exterior the place looks in need of an update - but inside it's a beautiful facility. Everyone wants to help, so if you have any issues or questions, don't hesitate to contact the staff.

Room Tip: Try the "Quiet Hall" if you're a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBoobsMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you BigBoobsMagee for the great review. We are glad to hear that your training session was a success and that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hickory hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#10 of 13 in Hickory
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hickory
Courtyard Hickory
#7 of 13 in Hickory
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hickory
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Property: Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Address: 1385 Lenoir Rhyne Blvd SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing business and pleasure with style and ease is no problem for Crowne Plaza of Hickory. Located in the beautiful Catawba Valley and less than an hour s drive from the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, as well as the Charlotte Douglas Airport, Crowne Plaza of Hickory is only minutes away from the famous Hickory Furniture Mart, Hickory Motor Speedway, the birthplace of Nascar, Lenoir-Rhyne University, the Historic Downtown area of Hickory known as Union Square, as well as the modern eclectic shopping malls. Lodging in our hotel provides business travelers quick access to almost all major corporations in the Catawba County Area. Unlike other Hickory area hotels, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Hickory helps guests stay well rested with specialized Sleep Advantage amenities, including plush bedding and guaranteed wake-up calls. Our spacious guest rooms include complimentary high-speed internet access, allowing you to stay in touch while visiting for leisure or business. The Crowne Plaza of Hickory provides anyone planning a business meeting or social event 12,000 square feet of versatile meeting space and superior service to ensure your event is a huge success!. Most of all, our guests appreciate how our Southern hospitality makes comfort and convenience a top priority. Come discover Hickory and experience exceptional service and hospitality at the Crowne Plaza of Hickory ..We re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hickory i-40 Hotel Hickory
Holiday Inn Hickory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing